Yachiyo Junior High School's Sports Day


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima
September 11th 2005
Published: September 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#1Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#1Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#1

Oh, this picture is looking back. At the hydro poles I made a left onto this street... my apartment is just around the corner.
In Japan every school has one day in the fall when all of the students and their parents participate in fun games/sports. Today was Yachiyo Junior Highschool's Sports Day, so I went to watch for a few hours in the morning. I thought it was going to be far more serious and competitive, but it turned out to be a fun day with games such as "tug-of-war," or "tsunahiki" as it is called in Japanese. It was a good day!

P.S... Mom, this is for you: I took pictures of everything I pass on my walk to school, the pictures will be posted in order so that you can imagine my walk. It takes about 10 minutes.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#5Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#5
Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#5

To the right of this path is a rice field. There are many rice fields in my area.
Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#8Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#8
Walk to Yachiyo J.H.S. Pic#8

At the top of this hill is the Junior High School, but I didn't take a picture of it because there were too many people there, lol, and I didn't want to look like a tourist. However, being the only foreigner there, I don't think it worked!
Red teams performanceRed teams performance
Red teams performance

The older kids were divided into two teams, Red and White, for this competition, I am not sure what it was all about, but I was a "honorary judge" for it. I thought both the Red and White team did a good job.
White TeamWhite Team
White Team

When judging the two teams I was asked to rate the volume of their voices, the dynamics of the presentation, etc. After handing in my sheet they all laughed at me because although I did not put my name on the sheet, they knew which one was mine because I wrote out all of the kanji meanings in English. Oops!
tug-of-war or "tsunahiki"tug-of-war or "tsunahiki"
tug-of-war or "tsunahiki"

This was for parents only.
Traditional Festival DanceTraditional Festival Dance
Traditional Festival Dance

This was a traditional festival dance, the whole school (66 students) were doing this.
Traditional Festival DanceTraditional Festival Dance
Traditional Festival Dance

This was a traditional festival dance, the whole school (66 students) were doing this.


12th September 2005

way to school
TQ for the walking tour - now I can see where you are - it looks lovely. Great Scenery ! Luv U

Tot: 0.207s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 15; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb