おはようございます!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Hiroshima » Kure
February 28th 2014
Published: March 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Ferry Ride to OkunoshimaFerry Ride to OkunoshimaFerry Ride to Okunoshima

Typical ferry with car loading capacity. This is on the way back, but on the way over we took a smaller, passenger-only ferry.
Just wanted to let you know that everything went well traveling and that I made it to Ellen's house last night.
On the plane ride over they showed Frozen, and I watched it in Japanese. In the title song, "Let it Go," the words "let it go" are replaced with "daijoubu, daijoubu." After I landed in Narita, I made it through customs, exchanged money, and made it to my domestic flight to Hiroshima. I was able to use the public internet to tell Ellen that I made it and that everything was going surprisingly well. Bachi! As soon as I said that, we were told that our flight was cancelled and we were taken to a separate room where we would receive our baggage. While there, I met an older man who asked me to watch his stuff when he went to the bathroom, but when what he was saying got too complex I had to use the good old, "Sumimasen, Ninhongo-ga wakarimasen. Amerikajin desu." He laughed and began speaking to me in English and sometimes German, the other language he knows. I know how he feels, because I catch myself about to use Spanish. When talking about the flight, I
The SeaThe SeaThe Sea

Seafaring culture is common on the island-rich coast of Western Japan.
was able to use "shikata ga nai," which he was pleased with. Through the rest of the journey, he made sure I stayed by him and even negotiated for us to get seats together. He showed me lots of pictures from his recent trip to Austria and talked about his job and family. We ended up getting bussed from Narita to Haneda where attendants rushed in getting us tickets. They opened a special security line for us and then ran us to our gate. A team of assistants actually ran peoples' bags to the gate. My friend and I ran our own over (he's a pretty athletic guy, and was coming back from a ski vacation in Austria), but it was quite a scene to have all these made-up women running with huge bags over to the gate, while others encouraged the slower members of our group to hustle. The process held up the flight by ten minutes, and we were those guys who walked onto a plane of anxiously waiting businessmen. The Hiroshima flight was fast and Ellen was waiting for me at the airport. I thanked my new friend again and gave him some of Auntie Leslie's kaki
Here Come the BunniesHere Come the BunniesHere Come the Bunnies

Usagi-jima is the unofficial name of this island.
for him and his wife to eat on the way home. He was appreciative. Then it was a 70 minute bus ride to Kure. It had been over 24 hours since I left at 3:00 am from Logan and arrived around 10:00 here, which would have been 6:00 am the next day. I slept well and am now up at 8:00 am writing this. Hey, maybe I won't have to deal with jetlag! Ja matta!


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Feeding TimeFeeding Time
Feeding Time

We brought carrots and lettuce to feed the rabbits.
Here Comes the SwarmHere Comes the Swarm
Here Comes the Swarm

Herds of rabbits surrounded us as we traveled from place to place.
Bunny Selfie?Bunny Selfie?
Bunny Selfie?

What rabbit selfies would look like.
Bunny LoveBunny Love
Bunny Love

Two bunnies snoozing together.
The Rabbit-Feeding LadiesThe Rabbit-Feeding Ladies
The Rabbit-Feeding Ladies

Ellen and Cat feed rabbits instead of pigeons from a park bench.
The ReachThe Reach
The Reach

Rabbits would get up-close and personal for food.
Don't MessDon't Mess
Don't Mess

They're cute, but don't let that fool you.
Ah, Looks Like He's Eating My Hand!Ah, Looks Like He's Eating My Hand!
Ah, Looks Like He's Eating My Hand!

They were gentle, overall.
Oh, they actually did!Oh, they actually did!
Oh, they actually did!

But sometimes they would bite us by mistake.


Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb