Party time!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Gifu
July 6th 2006
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Party 1Party 1Party 1

L-R: Takakawa-sensei, Keiko-chan, Cho-chan and Shouchou
Thursday 7/6/06

Wow. What a day, what a night!

Ok so yesterday was the release of the 2nd to last chapter of fruits basket!!! Ahhhh!!! However, all my attempts at getting to a bookstore failed!! The store near me was closed in the morning, and then, at lunch, our classes ran late so I barely had enough time to get something to eat before the bell rang. (In Japan even offices run on bells)

Then, after work was the welcome party for all the interns. There were maybe 20 of us there and it was AWESOME!!! Hayakawa san arranged the whole thing. It was at this great Izakaya in downtown Gifu. The drinks were superb and the food was fantastic. I drank a teensy bit too much and was slightly tipsy by the time dinner was through, but was by far the most sober of everyone else! Poor Asai kun, by the end he was really sick …I kept trying to get him to drink water but I don’t think it did much good 😞 But overall, it was lots of good food, good friends, and good times. Also, Shouchou (the founding partner) gave a nice speech to
Party 2Party 2Party 2

too many to name ;)
us, and then invited me to come stay at his house!!! So starting tomorrow (I think) I’m going to go stay with him for a week and half or so! I also got to know my co-workers a lot better and it was great to just let loose with everyone. Saito san really got smashed and was hilarious! Adachi and Hayakawa san were in a close second…hahaha!

After dinner, a few of us (including poor Asai kun) went to Karaoke. Poor Asai spent 75% of the time in the bathroom, but the rest of us had a great time!! Iwata kun was hilarious and Adachi was his sidekick, playing the tambourine whenever he sang! Hayakawa san and Saito san did a great rendition of “Yesterday” and I was really surprised, Hayakawa has an AMAZING voice!!! I turns out he used to be in a band when he was younger called “Invitation cats” which is the English translation of Maineki Nekko—you know those little beckoning cats you see at Asian restaurants? Ishino sensei did a Japanese baseball fight song, which was really funny, and Cho and I sang love ballads 😊 Yours truly was the star of the evening 😉
Party 3Party 3Party 3

L-R: Back--Keiko and Asai-kun Front--Saito-sensei and Mike
ahhh…what a few drinks can do….hahah! The hostess of the bar was really nice too and talked to us and served us really great snacks! Then at the end of the night she gave us these really cool little flashlights that display the time and date when you press the button instead of just a regular light beam. Kakkoi na!!!

After karaoke everyone went home except me, Hayakawa san, Adachi san, and Iwata san. The 4 of us went to this little ramen shop and I ate the BEST ramen Ive ever had in my life!! So good after a night of drinking and karaoke!! Hahaha! Finally we all caught a cab home together, though, by the end of the ride, all of us were dozing off. When I got back home I caught a bit of a second wind and decided to watch some TV. Guess what was on, NANA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I saw Nana on TV!! Not on the internet and no subtitles!! It was amazing!! I love Japan so much I never want to go back to the states!!! Today I am a little tired but happy : ) I am especially happy because I thought I had lost the bike key again, but it turns out I had just left it in the lock and forgotten to take it out when I arrived yesterday morning. The whole way to work today I was trying to think of how I was going to tell Adachi that I had lost the key again!! Saved!!! Whew…sigh of relief! Saturday is Adachis BBQ so Im really looking forward to that…good times all around hey!?



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Ramen!!Ramen!!
Ramen!!

The final 4...me, Hayakawa-san (L) Adachi-kun (B) and Iwata-kun (F)...after drinking, ramen tastes SO good. My friends, ramen shops are the denny's/waffle house/steak and shake of Japan!


Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb