Day 1 - Yachimata


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba
July 15th 2008
Published: July 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We're here!

So here goes our first entry...we've finally got internet in our hostel in Asakusa, so I'm going to have backtrack to yesterday and our time in Yachimata-machi. The plane ride was actually not that bad. Aside from the crazy crackling lady behind us and her husband who sounded like he was trying to cough up a lung...eww. since we were flying Korean Airlines, we got to try some interesting Korean food - "bim bim bop" I believe is actually the proper name for it. Not bad for plane food! and I think we drank more juice than we ever thought possible - they were serving us orange juice every 30 minutes or so and on a 10 hour flight that's alot of JUICE!

On our way to my family's house we stopped by the grocery store and we stocked up on Japanese Kyoho grapes and milk. I love the milk here! I can't get enough of it. We were also intrigued by some Asahi beer that we had never seen before....One was in a blue can and the other green. The green one was called "freestyle" and I don't remember what the blue one was caled. But anyways, since I can't read any kanji I didn't realize that the "freestyle" one was made with SOY BEANS and had zero-carbs, which equals ZERO flavor! It was like water - very gross. The other was not so bad, but I can't say I rate it in my top 10. More beer tasting to come!

Robert finally got to meet my family here in Japan and it was really a very cool experience for everyone in my opinion. They were very intrigued by his tattoo since most Japanese men don't have tattoos or keep them covered. He's having a great time using all the Japanese he's been studying and my cousin's 3-year-old little girl loves trying out her english on him. She's so cute! I taught her to say "good job!" and give a thumbs up and of course Robert was teaching her how to pick her nose 😊 I don't think she has been exposed to many "gaijin" (foreigners) so she was staring at us the whole time, and then to see us speak Japanese I think totally confused her!

So by 9:30pm, we had been awake for almost 24 hours so we decided to go to sleep after a huge dinner of sashimi, fried goodies, lots of homegrown fruit and a wee bit of sake.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

So green!So green!
So green!

One of the reasons I love Japan....everything's so GREEN!
CornCorn
Corn

Robert munching on homegrown corn in my family's front yard
New HouseNew House
New House

I really really loved the old house, but I guess you have to upgrade at some point
More cornMore corn
More corn

Where we got the corn we ate


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0283s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb