General Update


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Chiba » Yotsukaido
November 15th 2006
Published: November 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've officially got a month left here. I've taken all the midterms too, since my last one was Monday. I'm not doing as poorly as I thought in Japanese, so I'm grateful for that. Extracurricular activities have been rather sparse - IES only had one activity, a calligraphy class, which I cannot do.

But this coming week more than makes up for it. This weekend I'm making another trip to Yasukuni for History of Tokyo, which, if not enlightening, will be enjoyable. We've got class as usual on Monday, with Jissen and an area study. But I usually go to Art and Society of Japan, which I'm missing in order to go to the Diet for Japanese Society. I have absolutely no problem with this since, as nice as the Art teacher is, her class has the personality of cardboard. Then on Tuesday the 21st we leave for Nikko, a 2 day, 1 night trip. About half the people on IES aren't going because they feel like it's too short, but since IES fees charged us for it I figure I might as well go. And there are onsen there! I feel the need to reconnect with my skinkin. It's amazing how quickly I adapted to and bonded with group bathing. I recommend it for everyone. It's like skinny-dipping, only without booze and in heat-controlled areas. If I'm lucky, the onsen in Nikko will be outdoors. Also while in Nikko, I turn 21. Not a bad way to celebrate, I think.

The next day, the 23rd, we have off in observance of a national holiday. Japan has more holidays than you can shake, not a stick, but the whole tree at. This one is Labor Day. Since it's a day off, and the day after my birthday, I plan on going to Harajuku and buying myself a present. That takes us to Friday, when Japanese class is cancelled and that's all I have. So instead, I'm going with my host mother, Inukai-san (whom I adore), and two other friends of Okasan, as well as (hopefully) one of my friends, to Kamakura.

That Saturday, one of my host mom's friends is coming over with her daughter who has an interest in American culture. I am given to understand that she speaks some English, so we'll see how that goes.

Later on plans include the IES Re-entry Workshop and skipping class on a Tuesday (December 5th, as a matter of fact) so I can go to Tokyo Disneyland/Disney Sea with my host mom and a friend of hers. I figure it's Japanese class and Society class. I can explain to Naito-san and the teachers that my host mother really wanted to take me on a trip and this was the only day that all of the people could go. If they don't like it, too bad.

I got a package today! It was welcomed with much excitement and ripping of wrapping. I'm happy my host mom liked the plants I asked to have sent. My personal favorite was Jack-in-the-pulpit, because of its name and the subsequent explanation to Okasan of just what a pulpit is.

Other than that, I've gotten a little fed up with a certain friend's attitude, but it's nothing I can't tune out. But her way of thinking is highly flawed in that my sole purpose is not, in fact, to care about every detail of her life without attention to anything else.

Pictures later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0265s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb