Kara, Kara, Kara - Empty from Ancient China


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi
October 4th 2006
Published: October 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well folks, I finally found it. A Japanese class for clueless foreigners like myself! The class is an hour and a half once a week in Nishio, the next city over. It is taught by volunteers, so it is surprisingly inexpensive (2000 yen/year!), but there are enough volunteers that each student gets a one-on-one teacher. After my first class last week, I am practicing my hiragana (Japanese syllabary characters) and I am overusing introduction phrases to the point of driving my co-workers mad, originally with laughter, but now more with annoyance. Hajimemashite. Watashi wa Kara Pilon to mosh imas. Kara to yonde, kudasai. Over and over and over. Of course there is more, but I don't want to drive you mad as well!

Well, maybe a little. I also learned that "kara" means a few different things, though I always spell them "kala" so as not to confuse myself. It is most commonly used as the word "from", but within another word it can also mean empty - karaoke is empty of words, karate is empty handed (thanks Cam). The one that I like best for it's seeming extravagance though is that "Kara" was the ancient name of China. So there you go... I'm part of history!

A few weeks ago, Miyoko took a trip to Seoul. She absolutely loves Korea, so between the food and the cut-outs of Yonsama, her favourite actor, she was truly in her element. In true Japanese style, she returned with loads of souvenirs. Among the souvenirs was food galore, including mushrooms that are apparently quite the delicacy as they were bubble wrapped, put in styrofoam, and taped up into a cardboard box. And no, they weren't that kind of mushroom. She was excited to host a little dinner party, so Simran came over and we partook in a delectable Korean meal. Afterward, we got to play dolls as Miyoko dressed us up in her kimonos. I tell you, this woman really knows how to welcome the gaijin!

So from the Japanese language and dress, next up was the tea ceremony. Miyoko took me to a small tea ceremony house a few weeks ago and we enjoyed the grounds and of course, the tea itself. Then this past weekend, one of my students, Masa, took me to my first tea ceremony class. Here, I was taught the formalities of being a guest at a tea ceremony and I got to see the very ritualistic serving at a tea ceremony. Though guests are not necessarily obliged to sit seiza style, the servers are, so I thought I'd at least try it too. For those who don't know, seiza style is when a person is on her knees and sitting back on her feet... and for those unaccustomed to sitting this way, it can be uncomfortable to start, and utterly painful by the finish. After about fifteen minutes or so, I moved to sit cross legged and nearly passed out as my blood rushed below my knees. The tea and cake was wonderful though and I'm looking forward to going back for more practice!

My next "first" was the karaoke night. Of course I have done my fair share of karaokeing in Canada, but the Japanese experience is a little different. Japanese karaoke bars rent out rooms to small or large parties and you control all the singing yourselves. It's great because you get to sing a lot more, it's not quite as nerve racking because you're only singing in front of your friends, and if anyone boos you, a returned wise-crack won't turn into a bar brawl! It's actually surprising how easily a two hour booking can extend into a four or five hour karaoke session. Grand fun!

I've been very lucky to be experiencing so many Japanese traditions lately, and it definitely doesn't stop here. Among my plans for the month of October are a tea ceremony in Nishio that hopes to break the world record for the most people drinking tea at the same time, a temple walk and festival in Ohama, a kabuki performance, and a Japanese class field trip! I'm also working Saturdays in October so I'll be a very busy girl. Stay tuned!






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Just Call Me AJ StylesJust Call Me AJ Styles
Just Call Me AJ Styles

Fellow HRHSers... recognize anyone??? (You knew it was coming, man!)


4th October 2006

Do you have a R-r-r-ooom with a Foone?
OK, so I've decided on a kimono. You asked what I wanted you to bring back for me......Do they seel them at the bargain floor of that department store mall?? Or is it not a item that would ever show up on a discount table? Seriously....see what you can find! Also.... I'm glad that you're attempting to learn Japanese.....mabe now you'll be more tolerant of my French?? Love you princess!
4th October 2006

where are you?
Hey girl - where are you on msn????? I have been looking for you every night! I feel like such a knob because i haven't left any comments! yes there are exclamations marks after each sentence - you know me - always yelling and born without an "inside voice"......miss ya tons........see you on msn!!!!!
10th October 2006

Aubrey the Superstar?!?!?!
Is that Aubrey and his wife on an assessment advertisement!?!?!?!?! Is this a billboard you saw? crazy stuff! ha ha ha. I had to looke once, twice and then three times! Miss you tonnes!
10th October 2006

Crissie
Crissie is me (Crystal) dear friend. I seem to have somewhat adopted the kind nickname Aubrey has so delightfully assigned to me! ahhh!! Just thought I would let you know for future reference. Later Gator!
10th October 2006

Sure Is!
Yeah... that`s Aubrey and his wife. And the billboard is huge! He`s actually bigger than me!
11th October 2006

10 years and that billboard photo never made it home!
Kara! How could you!!!!!! This is actually a billboard that came out of a few TV ads. It was also on the trains. I was playing the part of a lost foreigner in Tokyo and the two ACC kids saved the day by telling us that the train station is around the corner. Anyway, I had forgotten until ... If you listen to the ACC tapes/cds, you may recognize the voices too. It was too much fun! Thanks for the laugh again.

Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.059s; cc: 9; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb