Vacation


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi
August 10th 2006
Published: August 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's vacation, and I am not going anywhere!! Well, that's a lie. I'll spend o-bon with my host family. I really need this vacation, too. Yay!!

Yesterday was payday, but I didn't get paid until 9:00 at night because my boss LOST my salary. This is a bit of a problem, yes? I called him twice before he even did anything about. Lazy bastard. I'm going to have so much fun when I leave. I hope it really inconviences him. He charged me full rent for living in someone else's living room, too. We will have a fun chat about that after vacation. I'm clairvoyant, I can see how it will go. He'll give me some bullshit reason as to why he did it, then say he's busy and hang up. 😊 And then I will laugh with Tomomi and go to the vending machine for coffee or something.

In addition to salary annoyance, I was walking home yesterday (as per usual) when I had a minor run in with another Japanese guy--though much less creepy than previous encounters. The guy was turning the corner in his car, and I was waiting for him to turn, as you are supposed to do at intersections. He was driving really slowly, which I thought was weird, but I didn't think too much of it till I looked up and he had almost stopped and was rolling down his window and staring at me. All I have to say is this: I know I'm white, get over it. I have breasts, get over it. I'm American, but that does not mean I enjoy being treated like cattle or something. Needless to say, I put the meanest look I was capable of mustering on my face and waved him on. I'm sick of Japanese guys. But, unlike a lot of people, I didn't come here looking for a prince or princess, so it's all good. And to be fair, I can't judge Japanese Guys based on two random people.

Tomomi and I better go to karaoke after o-bon, cause I'm really looking forward to seeing what it's like. It's expensive, that's all I know.

Wow, I just realized how negative that post sounds. Don't me wrong, I'm loving this experience. More than anything else, I want to stay in Japan, just not working in the same place. The city is great, the people are wonderful, and I don't even mind the cicadas that wake me up at 5:00 in the morning. I was cooking dinner tonight (with the window open because even though it's hot I hate using air) and I hear really traditional dance music. No idea where it came from, but it was delightful!

I think maybe the best thing about being here is that I have the time and the inclination to write. Traveling is such great stimulus for thought. And what is writing (or art, or creativity in general) without thought?

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0536s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb