I hate titles


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi
July 14th 2006
Published: July 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

06/7/12

Tomomi is going to make me feel guilty when I leave, I can tell. Not in a malicious way, but one of the parents was giving her grief about teachers changing so often that she looked at me and said ‘you have to stay for at least six months, because I told her you’d be here for a long time’. I wonder if 2 more months will count as a long time. It’s 8 lessons anyway, but not what that mother has in mind.

Also, I think I walked about ten miles today in wicked heat and humidity. I’m exhausted, and I thought I was going to pass out in class by the time I got there…damn my forgetting my wallet!!

And finally, I used to think that the Japanese (almost) never broke with their formalized customs, but when I walked into the school this afternoon I had to kick myself not let my jaw drop and act like nothing unusual had happened. One of the male Japanese teachers (for really young kids there is a Japanese teacher to help explain things) was standing behind the reception desk changing his shirt. He was completely topless, which is not inherently bad, but in this situation was quite shocking. I think I may have blushed. I never do that.

06/7/13

So, of course after writing about ‘Ugly City Syndrome’ I would stumble upon something of an oasis of beauty in Okazaki. There is a short, short walkway that has some shade from overhanging branches beside a small pond for about 30 feet or so right before I get into the dark heart of city ugliness when I walk to the station. Well, today it was so bloody hot that I decided to take that walk, even though it meant a slight detour. As I was walking, I noticed a fish in the pond (I’d like to say carp, but probably catfish. I can’t tell my fish species from 20 feet away). Watching him swim was kind of relaxing. Then I looked up, and as I looked through the branches, I saw a temple!! It was not a spectacular temple, I won’t lie. But it was fairly pretty, especially considering it was buried behind lots of run-down looking stores and tangles of power lines. I want to paint it or something. Maybe I’ll try tomorrow.

I haven’t been feeling very well lately, and I almost passed out in class today, and I think it’s because of the hours I work and that I wake up with the sun even if I don’t work till five. I’m not certain I can keep this up. Also, walking so much is OK, but my feet hurt almost constantly. I walk at least 5 kilometers a day. Meh. There’s a blister on my pinky toe that is actually kind of funny. It makes my toe look swollen to about twice its actual size. I’ve noticed a few other things, but my complaining is probably boring.  Suffice to say that whether my manager and boss like it or not, I have to leave in august.

Oh! I may be going to the Gion Festival again, only this time with someone my age. Yay Maki-chan!! She’s supposed to call tonight. If I go, expect a very long post. And probably pictures as well. Ok, I need to go get as non-sticky as possible. Hah! Silly ocean and stuff. The heat will hopefully break soon.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.14s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb