thurs day 48


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra
March 8th 2015
Published: March 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

So after the last 2 days, today was always going to be a bit of a come down and spending 8 hrs of it in the back of a people carrier that it was! So after getting a few more pictures of the village, bob ( also from the jungle trek) and I made our way to catch the van. First stop was medan to drop 2 people off, then onto Danau Toba - about 5 hrs south. Stopping off at a restaurant on the way I opted for chicken curry - what came was a bowl of rice and what looked like a bone in a yellow sauce ( if this had been presented to me in the UK - i would definitely complain!) it hardly contained 2 mouthfuls of meat, so I filled myself up with the rice and biscuits on the way! After a long journey and a very numb bum we made it to parapat - a small port town on the edge of Danau Toba. After stretching our legs we got on a small ferry which does the 40 minute crossing every hr or so to Samosir island. Being full of hotels and guesthouses there was no need to pre book anything and sure enough after a 5 minute walk I managed to find a perfectly adequate room for 2 nights costing the grand total of £3 a night! And a hot shower! Pleased with my find I unpacked and settled down for the night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0733s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb