A View Inside


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra
August 19th 2006
Published: August 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Challenging EnvironmentChallenging EnvironmentChallenging Environment

Camp Calang - where our 50 employees live and work. The ocean view doesn't provide much of a respite from the intense heat and dust.
I spent the last week running a computer training workshop for staff in our Calang field office. I love this part of my job - training our employees so they can do a better job of strengthening the communities. I got to attend one of our community PRA (participatory rural appraisal) sessions where fellow colleagues walked a community through identifying their most pressing needs and prioritizing the solutions. These guys know how to get things done and it was amazing to see (with my own eyes) how this really can have an impact. Ahhhhh, but visiting Calang is stimulating for more reasons than just work. The camp-like environment, the remoteness, the intense heat, the lack of English - it's utter submersion into a different world. Every meal is fish and rice and soon, after a few days, it all starts to blur together - dinner and breakfast, work and life, Elvis and Rafly. But the more things get blurry, the more clearly I see that this is why I wanted to come overseas in the first place. It sounds too cheesy to elaborate on in words (trust me, I've tried) but I picked out these photo's to just show you instead.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Experiencing the Jungle CommuteExperiencing the Jungle Commute
Experiencing the Jungle Commute

The road to Calang was wiped out in the tsunami. The bumpy 6-hr journey now takes you through dense jungle, flooded countryside and dramatic cliff-side beaches.
Mixing with the "natives"Mixing with the "natives"
Mixing with the "natives"

Playful kids, always as friendly and curious to meet me as I am to meet them. The face "paint" gives protection from the harsh sun.
Visible ResultsVisible Results
Visible Results

Temporary houses pop up like daisys along the road. When "everything" is needed, in some ways, work is simpler.
Strengthening Civil SocietyStrengthening Civil Society
Strengthening Civil Society

The community members prioritize their problems and propose solutions that we will fund. I believe letting the people be in control is the most important thing we can do for them. For Aceh. For the world.
Work & Life ZenWork & Life Zen
Work & Life Zen

I've found many political and philosophical soulmates in this line of work, despite our varied backgrounds. Aida shares this "office" with 2 other colleagues.
Capitalism - YES!Capitalism - YES!
Capitalism - YES!

After basic needs were met, the locals requested assistance to build back their market. Fish, vegetables, chickens and fruit will be sold here.
The Other After-work spotThe Other After-work spot
The Other After-work spot

After work, we head just over the hill to a secluded beach for a little swim and to watch the sunset. Much more my speed than the Mica bar on 41st & 3rd.
A room Thoreau would approve ofA room Thoreau would approve of
A room Thoreau would approve of

I actually enjoy the simplicity of the accommodations. Limited water, limited electricity, limited distractions.
Cultural Exchange!Cultural Exchange!
Cultural Exchange!

Who says Indonesians don't like Salsa music? Dayat shows off his "break" moves here. Boy (in background) teaches me Bollywood dances.
Lazy weekend afternoonsLazy weekend afternoons
Lazy weekend afternoons

Saturday, we head to a nearby deserted island for swimming, fishing and maybe a little flirting. fun, Fun, FUN!
Indelible MemoriesIndelible Memories
Indelible Memories

The girls stained my nails with henna, just like they do for their brides on their wedding day. My fingertips will be "chocolate" now until October.


19th August 2006

yei... it was time for u to get out of Banda... welcome to your new adiction. love and respect.
21st August 2006

Great pix!
I love that the banner ad at the top of this post reads "Florence apartment rental Low Cost Everywhere in town. Full deposit refund." Calang sure ain't Florence, but your photos really bring out the charms of the place. Love the chocolate fingernails too. Will you be there long? Or is this a short assignment?
22nd August 2006

love the nails!
Erica, you always bring me right along with you on your journey with your story and it’s images, eloquent as always. The work sounds rewarding and you bringing your flair, fun and lovely self makes it the life experience for everyone. Love ya chica!
23rd August 2006

2nd home?
great photo's, looks beautiful enough there to build a vacation home.white sand, blue ocean, not too crowded-pretty good. do you think we can have a.c. installed? and how about a salt water pool and instead of having it heated we could have it cooled. hmmn oh well there's always mexico. xoxo
25th August 2006

second home?
I think mom has a great idea. It looks like the perfect place for a vacation home, on a beautiful beach in paradise. (senza ac. running water, and and no crowds on the beach.) I would love to be with you.xoxoxo
14th September 2006

I AM SO JEALOUS!
Hey Erica. Once again our pathes never cross. I know you were home this summer and I was working - missed your sunny face again. Anyway, I think what your doing is fantastic and I am totally envious. Each day I am back here in "reality" I think - please take me back to my quiet boat life in th BVI. I keep looking for volunteer or job opps like yours - so rewarding in this crazy world. I'm just back from South Africa and it really makes me realize how lucky we are. Keep up the good work. Hope to meet you and have a long, long chat some day. Big Hug...Sue G :) (aka: Lisa's pal).

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb