Three… Two… One…


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Pulau Weh
November 9th 2005
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

OfficeOfficeOffice

The NGO has it's office in an rented MANSION!
Well here’s where things kinda just happened. I returned from my tropical island, and the next day, Nick brought me into the office of the NGO he worked for. He’d already talked to the head office in New York, and they were pretty keen to take me on. In fact they said that if Nick didn’t want me in Aceh, they had work for me in Africa!
It was just a case of them checking out my reference - something that I don’t think anyone has ever done for me!
Oh yeah and the medical test....
For those of you who don’t know, my biggest phobia in the WHOLE world has been needles. I was convinced that I was physiologically incapable of giving any sort of blood sample. But it only goes to reason that to live my dream; I should have to face my biggest fear. So with excessive nervous toe tapping, and much to the amusement of the Indonesian nurse, I gave blood. It really wasn’t that bad, although I did nurse my arm for the rest of the day.
Finally my references came through (Thanks Geoff, Peter and Brett) and I was officially offered the position.

I am working under Nick in Logistics; In charge of procurement, warehousing and transportation. From the initial impression it seems as if there are an excessive number of forms and processes to follow, but I guess that’s part of the job. One of the challenges in the NGO world is to combat corruption and to ensure that there is transparency when spending donor’s money.

The contract they gave me is for 3 months, although my visa runs out at the end of December, they will probably renew it; and there is a Humanitarian Logistics training course which I want to go on in India at the end of January. I’m not too sure what I’ll do after, I guess take it as it comes. Before you throw you hands up in disgust at me giving in the freedom of the backpacker lifestyle, let me assure you that this is an absolutely amazing opportunity. I am being trained up in a new career, which is something that I am really interested in, and could lead to jobs all over the world.

THUNDERBIRDS ARE GO!


Advertisement



17th November 2005

Ha ha ha you haemophobe. Glad you are not the doctor in the family. Take care bro
18th November 2005

Shit man
your really doing it, i love you!
20th November 2005

Worse than needles
Just consider that if your reference was coming from JD, you'd be relying on the blood test and glad to have the needle.

Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb