Head in the Clouds


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Sumatra » Bukittinggi
October 6th 2005
Published: October 10th 2005
Edit Blog Post

I was glad to get out of the sweaty industrial town of Dumai, although the overnight bus trip wasn't exactly bliss.
I arrived in Bukittinggi early in the morning, and with the help of a local girl found my way to my hostel.
Walking round Bukittingi was an interesting experience. I really came to appreciate that I was in a foreign land. Bukittinggi is rather unique; it is 930m above sea level meaning that it is rather cool. Mountains rise up around it and clouds float by, just out of reach.
I managed to be befriended by a local who guided me to a nearby village on the other side of the canyon. This place is beautiful. Rice paddies either side of the road, stretching off into the mountains. I was in awe.
Sitting having dinner in a restaurant I got talking to a local. After discussing Religion, human nature, and all that small talk, I found out that there was a New Zealand lady who lived here, and before I knew it I was sitting in her lounge having tea, cheese and crackers. She had fallen in love with Indonesia (and an Indonesian) and now spent most of her time here!
Sorry - No photos now, the connection here is abit dodgy. While put some up as soon as possible.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th October 2005

heya :)
Been reading your blogs - sounds absolutely fantastic... All is going well here in Nottingham - except I have the travel bug worse then before! Hear from you soon I hope xx
11th October 2005

Dodgey connection
Not sure if it's the connection with the woman that is a bit dodgey.....
11th October 2005

Cheese and Crackers
Nice one :-)

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb