relaxing in heaven


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Lombok » Gili Air
June 30th 2009
Published: June 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

well i can't believe it we're at the end of June already, boy that one certainly crept up on me.
Well I'm now on the lovely picturesque island of Gili Air at the northern point, which means I get spoilt with sunrise and sunset from my bit of beach outside the bungalow, oh its a hard life!

This is now my second full day here. Initially I flew from Bangkok via Bali to Lombok where I stayed for a few days before getting the boat over to Gili Air.

Well since we last spoke I ended up doing the Elephant Sanctuary just north of Chiang Mai in Thailand, and goodness me what a day, it was started by a woman called Lek with 3 elephants back in 95, since then she has rescued many more (I think a total of 33 now including 2 babies born there) and they have a wonderful huge stretch of land that they can roam almost completely freely in, as close to wild as they can get. They are not there for our amusement and some of them have seen such horrific torture in their lives, it is wonderful the work she has done, a truely amazing and inspirational woman. I spent the day learning all about them, feeding them (twice) getting in the river and washing them done (again twice, which was amazing) and generally just being around them. Oh and a wonderful buffet lunch too, a real amazing day, think i smiled so much that day it made my face ache!!!



Seems ages since I left Chiang Mai getting the overnight train - second class no air con from Chiang Mai to Bangkok, very long journey but actually pretty cool. There was a lot of room and we set out from Chiang Mai st just before 3pm arriving in Bangkok around 6.15am, so a long old journey but lots of fun. Spent a few days in Bangkok at a very nice youth hostel where somehow whilst walking through Bangkok did something to my knee, which meant not really moving much for a while.
I then flew from Bangkok down to Bali and decided to straight away (well with a 4 hour wait) get the next flight to Lombok and a cab straight up to the sea side resort of Sengigi, promptly got a lovely stomach bug the meant
along with the knee really not doing much for a few days and staying in Sengigi quite a bit longer than planned. Now however I am (almost) completely back on track and all fixed got a boat straight from Sengigi with perama bypassing the bus trip etc which brought me right to heavens door!

I now have my own bungalow and own personal squat toilet and mandi now, can see the sea from my hammock, breakfast on the beach, reggae bar next door, perfect diving right on my doorstep (incidently have booked up for Thursday woohoo)- gone with Blue Marlin - cheers for that one Danno 😊 aiming to do loads after that, snorkeling is amazing - just walking off from the beach to a great drop off and stunning views everywhere you look. Oh and no vehicles allowed on the island or dogs! so transport is by push bike, horse drawn buggy or foot (well it isnt that big at all). Gonna spend a few weeks here and a week tomorrow my friend chel comes to join me for a month - definatly looking forwards to that

😱


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



1st July 2009

Fantastic Bex, what a wonderful place! So glad you're better now too. xx
26th July 2009

Wow
Wow hun looks and sounds like you're having the time of your life x missing you but loving your blog keep it coming x loads of love stay safe xxx case xxx

Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0703s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb