A couple more days in Bali and then Balikpapan


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Kalimantan » Balikpapan
May 26th 2018
Published: June 25th 2018
Edit Blog Post

From Labuan Bajo on Flores, I started a bit of a complicated journey to Nunukan Island off of Borneo. It involved a flight/nights in Bali, a flight to a city called Balikpapan on Borneo, followed by a flight to an island called Maratua and then boat ride to Nunukan.

The best part of this journey was in Balikpapan...and I didn't take any pictures, except one of the band at the end. It was a Friday night, during Ramadan. My hotel hosted a huge celebration buffet for breaking the fast, and Friday night was definitely party night. There were hundreds of people celebrating, in huge groups of families, all dressed up for a night out. There was a band, and people would go up and join them singing. They mostly played traditional songs (I assumed...none were familiar), although at the very end something sounded catchy and, much to my surprise, I realized they were playing Despacito. There was also a "photo booth" where families took pictures together. Oddly, it was an elaborate bed, which I didn't quite understand.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 19; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb