Cibodas (5-6 Jun 12)


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Cianjur
June 5th 2012
Published: June 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A short 1h angkot ride to Cibodas, and on the way I started to see why the area is favoured by weekending Jakartans -- beautiful highland scenery that I'd somehow missed when staying in the centre of Cianjur town.

Stayed at Ubud Bali Cibodas Guest House, in a rather quiet location by the middle of the hill on the way up to Cibodas itself. Old but friendly place, with lotsa kept animals! Spotted birds, cats, dogs, and even two battering rams!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Welcome to Cibodas!Welcome to Cibodas!
Welcome to Cibodas!

Spotted at the Bali-Ubud- Cibodas Guesthouse (could the name be any more confusing?) I joked with the caretaker whether they were for eating, and she said they used to be for fighting, but were now retired.
Istana @ CipanasIstana @ Cipanas
Istana @ Cipanas

I was not allowed in as I was wearing shorts! FYI for anyone wanting to visit.
Kebun Raya Cibodas Kebun Raya Cibodas
Kebun Raya Cibodas

Apparently Sir Stamford Raffles had a hand to play in this too. This is the sister and highland version of the Botanic Gardens in Bogor (which I'll be visiting too), and even bigger! It was indeed sprawling, with many local school-children and couples enjoying themselves there.
Banana Pancakes for BreakfastBanana Pancakes for Breakfast
Banana Pancakes for Breakfast

As LP puts it, the snack that "has charmed a generation of backpackers".
Morning ViewMorning View
Morning View

From the porch outside my room. I kid you not.
Tea Plantations @ PuncakTea Plantations @ Puncak
Tea Plantations @ Puncak

Of course, the Puncak & Cibodas-Cianjur regions are most famous for their tea plantations, and rightly so.
Melrimba Garden @ PuncakMelrimba Garden @ Puncak
Melrimba Garden @ Puncak

I stumbled upon this luxury villa, complete with rooms, restaurants, and all sorts of facilities including an ATV ride circuit, swimming pool, height confidence course and beautifully-maintained gardens like the one pictured, and greenhouses and ponds. I didn't enquire the price, but it certainly looked WAY out of my budget.
Wear Your Helmet!Wear Your Helmet!
Wear Your Helmet!

Better safe than sorry!


14th April 2014

Ubud Bali Cibodas Guest House
Hi Jeremy, is this guest house easy to locate as there is no address in LP, is it near Kebun Raya Cibodas?
22nd April 2014

Hi Paul Yes if I remember correctly, it was on the road to Kebun Raya, which was a left turn from the highway from Cianjur (coming from the east). Bali Ubud guesthouse was on the left side of the road just a few hundred metres from the intersection of the Kebun Raya Rd and the highway. I remember telling the angkot driver Bali Ubud, and he knew where to drop me. Happy and safe travels!
17th December 2014

Ubud Guest House CIbodas
Hi Jeremy, do you save the hotel contact number? can i have it? may i know around how much per night? i couldnt find it their web, and tripadvisor also didnt help. thanks dini
17th December 2014

Hi Dini, I found this review of the guesthouse on TA: http://www.tripadvisor.com.sg/Hotel_Review-g3200187-d3825759-Reviews-Bali_Ubud_Guesthouse-Cibodas_Banten_Province_Java.html I can't remember the exact cost, but I don't recall it being too expensive, maybe about Rp100k, but that was over two years ago. But I remember when I told the angkot driver "Bali-Ubud", he knew where to drop me off. If I remember correctly, it was on the road to Kebun Raya, about half-way up a long, steep slope. What I do distinctly remember were the delicious apple pancakes I had there for breakfast. Hope that helps, and happy travels!

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb