Indonesia - Flores


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Flores » Ahuwair
November 16th 2007
Published: January 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

My BathroomMy BathroomMy Bathroom

This is my ensuite...there is the luxury red squat toilet and the black minimalist shower...

Uwahair....only tourist in town...



This afternoon I arrived in Flores, a small island in Indonesia. The airport consisted of a short runway in a field and one building. The luggage gets put onto this 12 foot conveyor belt...not much unlike the supermarket checkout!.
I was a bit reluctant to leave the safety of the airport as there was about 50 taxi drivers outside - and as only 4 tourists got off the plane - like lambs to the slaughter!! Fortunatley as I was contemplating how I was going to escape the frenzy outside a man came over and flashed a card for Sunset Cottages - which co-incidently was exactly where I was off to!
Sunset Cottages aka "The End of the Earth" is fabulous! Its in this tiny town called Uwahair, I had a tiny bamboo hut approx 20 metres from the sea, a squat toilet and a bucket and cup for the shower...some peoples nightmare, no glass in the windows, a mozzy net over my bed and no locks...it was the best place I have ever stayed!! Some of you guys wouldn't last 2 hours in a place like this...it was super basic but its really clean,
My BedroomMy BedroomMy Bedroom

My bedroom with floral mozzie net
and I am the only tourist for miles!
The people here are so friendly!! within 10 minutes I have been invited to a wedding this evening! everyone seems really genuine.
So a few hours later after I have settled in, I walk up to the village with my new found friends Ina and Fanny - yes Fanny! ...as we are walking through the village (which is pitch black, I'm convinced I'm going to tread on some foreign scary object) every house or hut we walk past has got music blaring out of it, seriously there is a disco in every house! We eventually get to the wedding, they told me it was only a small do???? there is hundreds of people here!! Anyway I follow the girls and we walk up to the bride and groom shake their hand and then put a donaton in this box....guess who hasn't bought any money! I felt sooo rude! The bride looked fabulous in this deep red dress, the groom kind of looked like he had got dressed in the dark...
Overall the wedding was a blast, ate some great food and then the music starts and everyone dances!! I got the privilege of having the first dance with the bride, not quite how we do things at home. The dancing consists of people getting in 2 rows, and facing each other they dance forward and backward...very easy even for someone as un co-ordinated as me...they all reckoned I was a great dancer, I'm sure they were just being polite...that never happens at home! ha!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The WeddingThe Wedding
The Wedding

you can't see much as it was too dark to take photos, but let me assure you it was madness


Tot: 0.161s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb