Bali Hai


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
April 6th 2005
Published: April 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Vanessa's Sanctuary in SanurVanessa's Sanctuary in SanurVanessa's Sanctuary in Sanur

Done in traditional Balinese architecture, this hotel has been a favorite of Vanessa's.
Hi Everyone! Greetings from Indonesia!!! Well, Dave and I have FINALLY gotten our blog going and we hope you all enjoy. We are looking forward to your comments so, please let us know what you think....

Arrival in Denpasar, Bali 4/23/05:
After a quick jaunt of THIRTY SIX hours we reached Indonesia. Bali is not at all what I expected. Frankly, I thought it would be an Australian version of the Caribbean but, boy was I wrong. Bali may be a tourist destination but, it is entirely third world. Tired, hungry and cranky we took a taxi to Sanur the "upscale, beachy area" of Bali. I was in utter shock, walking around the dirty, rundown streets followed by stray dogs and a chorus of voices saying, "You wanna buy? Cheap, cheap? Transport? Cheap, cheap!" As we wandered the streets chasing down Lonely Planet "budget" (yes, my friends, you are reading correctly) accommodations, it became increasingly clear that anyplace worth staying was enclosed in tall brick walls and therefore, a little difficult to indentify. Unfortunately for Dave the two places we did manage to find and check out were busts. The all-important bathroom inspection caused me to step back in a
Hindu OfferingHindu OfferingHindu Offering

These offerings are made and placed daily throughout Bali. In the road, on the beach, at temples, these offerings with their incense and colors are a sight to behold.
panic as big, wet tears rolled down my cheeks. Poor Dave! Realizing that he would have to EASE me into Third World accommodations, he stumbled onto a hotel that exceeded our budget but, thankfully met my expectations.....

SANUR, BALI:
And did we luck out! The Puri Gopa Hotel turned out to be a little oasis amongst the chaos. Designed in traditional Balinese style, it is truly beautiful. Bali, unlike the rest of Indonesia (which is Muslim), is Hindu. Every hotel, household and restaurant has some sort of shrine and the most beautiful floral "offerings" are displayed every morning and evening. We entered our room through an intricately carved, gold door and the grounds were adorned with various Hindu sculptures. Best of all, they had an amazing pool that was placed next to a huge carved, stone Balinese arch. We explored the beach front and quickly discovered the amazing resorts that give Sanur it's reputation. The price difference is staggering. They generally charge $200/night when Dave and I were breaking the budget at $25/night! We spent 4 days in Sanur just hanging out and adjusting to Indonesia. (I'm afraid I was the only one needing the adjustment (by the pool!)

Advertisement



6th April 2005

Toilet
I would agree with Vanessa's idea of a good toilet. Especially since the whole point and shoot theory isn't as easy for the women. I my mind a bad bathroom could ruin a good morning. - Chris L.
11th April 2005

ammenities
Wow! What a lucky find. Did your room come with its own bathroom. Did you have a little cooking area...What are you doing for food? Let me know more about this hotel...I'll definitely keep it in mind...if it actually has a decent bathroom/shower facilities. Have fun!! - Gina
21st April 2005

Toilet
As far as the toilet goes, I don't see a big deal. You didn't have to go all the way to Bali to use those toilets! All the hippies at Bonnaroo, TN were doing the same thing last year!! (I guess the foreign critters are scary. I don't want to put my heiny near foreign critters!) Kara - Kara

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0355s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb