Serenity Now!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
May 14th 2011
Published: May 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Writing a blog isn't that difficult. Keeping things interesting to the reader poses a completely different set of challenges. If I kept some sort of daily record it might make things a bit easier but that's never been how I operate and so I will try to recount the many things going on here from memory (even if I'd rather not relive some of them).

There's been quite a bit that has happened in the last week and a half or so. For starters, almost directly after my l last post I was stricken with an infection in both ears that has kept me out of any kind of water other than the shower. Being in a place this humid and muggy and having to stare at large bodies of water without being able to indulge a little is almost as bad as the stabbing sensation in my eardrums. The physician I have been seeing has been very kind but I've never been very fond of doctors to begin with so, even though he has helped me I do not appreciate the prodding and jabbing that is associated with this whole ordeal and I may secretly hate him (or want to anyways). The ears are finally better and other than trying to rid myself of some sniffles before getting back in the water tomorrow, I think I should be back on track.

The time out of the water, although painful in it's own right, has given me ample opportunity to get some much needed studying and bookwork done. The norm for these courses is to push you through quickly and given that the days are quite long, it does not leave a lot of time for studying in the evenings so I have enjoyed being able to actually read my manuals and get the tests out of the way so I can focus on the practical applications once I get back in the water. The downside to having so much time out of the water is that I have witnessed quite a bit at the center that not only myself but quite a few others, don't agree with. Yesterday we were called in for a meeting and I'm glad it did not go as I thought it would (screaming, yelling, maybe some hitting). Everyone was quite civil and even though the majority of it was aimed at us (the DM interns) not doing things correctly, I was able to point out that a lot of it was because of a lack of communication and training on the part of the staff here. I'm not real sure they expected anyone to say anything in retaliation as I don't think many in the past have and some of my comments seemed to catch the Operations Manager off guard but they were things that needed to be addressed. Everyone was rather quiet so I kind of took it on myself to voice most of the concerns for the group (surely a result of being a brash American according to most but given the price I paid for this, I'm not about to be walked on).

During my time out of the water I have managed to get some things accomplished that my long days had not preciously allowed. I switched to a new room with single bed, A/C, hot water and fridge. The first 3 things with the room I could have done without but the fridge is a necessity. Drinking warm water is anything but pleasant and having some cold, wet hand towels stored in the fridge (these are a staple of most restaurant around here that are brought to you before each meal) is next to ecstasy after you've been out and about. I was also able to rent a scooter which has provided all sorts of interesting times. They drive on the left here and it is not that big of an adjustment to do that but learning to look the opposite direction before pulling out has almost bitten me a couple of times. Aside from that I'm learning that if you adopt a general distaste for anything you've learned about driving up to this point you'll do quite well. Just a honk to let them know you're there and you're free to pass on either side, just watch for people pulling out because they are definitely not watching for you. I'm sure I will eventually land in the hands of the Polisi as this seems to be a common story told by anyone that's not local and has been here for any significant amount of time. The ending is always the same to this story, run like hell and hope they don't catch you or be ready to pony up to a hefty fine ($30-50). Thinking I'll do the first and use the second, coupled with the ignorant tourist routine to soften the blow. To the dismay of many, myself included, I have yet to be able to get out with the camera and am about to just start using the Iphone, even if it only stays charged in this humidity for a max of a few hours. I've also managed to find a new addiction (in what little spare time I do have) in the form of 60 min. full body massages for the outrageous fee of $5. I'm up to about 3 a week and every time they charge me, it still blows my mind. One thing I also want to try is the fish massage they offer. It consists of a tank filled with tiny little fish that attach themselves to whatever you may happen to put in said tank and proceed to eat the dead skin from you. Most people seem to find it rather ticklish at first and then calm down; the only thing holding me back at this point is making sure I'm not the 1000th person in the tank. Nasty. I'm also slightly curious to find out if the fish require any other forms of nutrition.

Lastly I will tel you a little story about a town called Kuta and why I prefer to keep my wits about me (best as possible) while imbibing anything alcoholic. Last week, after the new Instructors passed their exam there was a bit of a gathering and party for them. This entailed most of them getting hammered well before dinner and passing out. The rest of us ,and the few Instructors who were able, decided to go out for a night on the town since we all had the next day off. We made our way down to a little place around the corner called Angel's which seems to be the local watering hole for the majority of our center. After a few rounds it was apparent that trouble was brewing. One of the interns decided this would be the best time to get really honest with people (I secretly love these kind of drunks because it is nothing short of amusing to watch how sure of themselves they are). His girlfriend, also an intern, had gone home early and he immediately started groping the other females any chance he could and then proceeded to walk around calling people cunts, twats, and any other form of insult he could come up with. He then made the mistake of passing out on a couch in the corner which is when retribution reared her ugly head. He was immediately t-bagged, twice (the second being for the delight of those who didn't have their cameras ready for the first go-round). Followed by one of the females emptying the contents of his drink all over his head, he barely moved. I'm not sure the other bar patrons fully understood what was going on so we quietly dismissed ourselves to some the taxis waiting nearby and headed off for Kuta (a town known for being filled with Aussies where the music and drinks don't stop well until after the sun has risen). By this time the only people left in the group were the ones that I will refer to as the responsible ones. We hit a bar called the Sky Garden and proceeded to dance, dance, dance. There may have been some drinking that occurred as well. Aside from the first half of the night Kuta was far more tame than I expected it to be and I'm glad I've knocked it off of my "thing to do in Bali liist". It was a good time and I got to dance some demons out which was much needed, aside from that Kuta can have it's hoards of young people looking to get completely obliterated, I just wanna go diving.

In closing I will leave you with a link to a story that has helped me keep my focus during the time I've had to spend out of the water. I find it rather entertaining and amusing and maybe it will inspire you to go diving one of these days.

As Dave Barry says: "When you finally see what goes on underwater, you realize that you've been missing the whole point of the ocean--it's like going to the circus and staring at the outside of the tent."

http://www.miamiherald.com/2010/08/15/1737687/blub-story-a-very-deep-experience.html

Peace and Love

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb