Wipe out.


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali
December 9th 2004
Published: December 9th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Ronnie SurfsRonnie SurfsRonnie Surfs

Even the MacLad surfs in Bali !
OK apologies for no update on the blog for a little time, the reasons are :
1. I’m lazy !
2. Although I have been here a while in Bali, I didn’t feel I had done much to justify a blog update….. and that is due to 2 reasons also :

1. The Surf. Which has been especially easy and good (3-4 foot and clean), so much so that I have surfed everyday and sometimes twice a day. I am currently in Kuta due to the fact that it is one of only 2 beachbreaks in Bali, the rest are all reefbreaks (painful if you get it wrong) and left handers, two things that I am not too keen on although I have been practising my lefts here at Kuta and I have just purchased a set of reef booties so it is nearly time to move on.
2. The other reason is that I (shamefully admit) have got pretty settled here and having found 2 very good local restaurants I have been eating very very well. In fact at 50p for a Nasi Goreng Super (large special fried rice with pork, shrimp, beef and chicken, along with an egg on, and crackers) and 67p for a large Bintang (just less than a pint of local lager) you wont be surprised to know that if I haven’t been surfing I have been eating and drinking !

In truth I have been exploring a bit (when it’s an early high tide) and the two main things I did this last week was white water rafting and mountain biking.
The rafting was good, but as no one even came close to getting injured the rafting in Wales on Gumph’s stag do still has the edge. The most memorable part of this one was when an Aussie on the same boat turns to me and says ‘Phil, this water is so pure you can drink straight from the river’ and not 5 minutes later did we round a bend and there is a stark naked Balinese gadgee crouched down washing himself and his clothes in the river... I just smiled to myself.
The mountain biking was very good also and 2 Aussie girls and myself biked down from one of the volcanoes in the North through quite remote and original (not tainted by tourism) villages. This was great especially as there were only 2 major hill climbs, the rest of it was mostly downhill. The image I will remember most is of the little kids running out of their houses waving and shouting hello as we cycled through. The funniest moment however was when we visited a typical home complete with straw buildings and cattle, pigs and chickens to the side. The old guy of the house pulled me to one side and points at the girls and then me, so I nodded and said yes we were all together at which point he laughs and gives me one of those ‘you da man’ hugs – it was then that I realised what exactly he had asked (and I couldn’t disappoint him by telling him the truth could I ?) !

Right all of this typing has worked up a right hunger and thirst, so until next time...

Chubby of Bali.


Advertisement



22nd December 2004

Golden Arch
I've told you about eating too many Big Mac's dude - Peter

Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0645s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb