Made it to Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
April 17th 2005
Published: May 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I made it to Bali! The flight was extremely pleasant, though my luggage was delayed a little bit. Speaking of luggage, I packed all the WRONG things. I had absolutely no way to conceptualize the temperature and humidity here while I was in England. When I packed I thought maybe 20% of my clothes would be unnecessarily warm for this climate. More like 80% wrong. Just thinking about carrying those clothes around makes me sweat.

My hotel last night was pleasant, though the air conditioner didn't really work. The good news is that my hair and my skin love it. For all the moisturizer I had to slather on my skin in Europe, now I am considering lightening my load by throwing it away.

After I checked into the hotel I took a walk on the beach, down to where Flora is staying. Met with her. Turn out that our "women's silat training" is just going to be the two of us because Shanti didn't get her visa. Flora is disappointed - I think she's bored with just me! This certainly shifts the energy of the training. Funny that my "private" training in Spain turned out to be with a small women's group (Flora's students from Austria) and my "women's group" training turns out to be private. Some of Flora's advanced silat friends (Maureen and ?) may come for a few days, so that should hopefully mix things up for us!

I've already practiced my bargaining skills (though I know I ended up paying way too much money for a hat and sunglasses (which turned out to be a little cracked on closer examination)), already been enticed into conversation by every corner driver/tour guide/vendor in my corner of Seminayak, already learned how to steer clear of enticement to converse (Props to Patrick Douce for modeling this for me - very effective)...

I've already hit the wall of, "Aaaaah! What am I doing here?! Five weeks? Alone? Am I crazy?" Glad I'm dealing with that already so I can get it overwith.

Please think good thoughts about me and for me, as I am just a little insecure. And also I know that I am a Bad Ass and am surrounded by lots of protective spirits (who already saved me from stepping into a deep watery hole in the sidewalk).

I love you and would love little loving notes from whoever is inclined.
Love,
Maggie

I'll be inncommunicado through the dates listed above (see previous post), so don't get worried.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb