Bali


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
May 7th 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Marilyn and friends sent me off in style with a lovely brunch on Sunday, wine, champagne, beautiful Italian meal in the garden. A last supper of sorts. Then off to Bali. I arrived in the dark and had no idea of the paradise that awaited. My hotel is in Seminyak on the beach. I was greeted with a smile and followed down a winding path lit with lights amongst tropical trees, small fish ponds...

I fell asleep to the sound of tree frogs and awoke very early to the sound of song birds, the crashing waves in the distance and smell of incense. I took a walk on the beach as the sun was rising (~7:30 am everyday since we are at the equator) and watched some local fishermen on the beach and out in boats. Dogs abound and roam freely on the beaches, the middle of the road. So many motorbikes and some with families of four on one!

I hope to stay a few days here then off to Ubud and Amed. Looking forward to a massage later on today.

On the plane I sat next a woman originally from Chicago but who lives in Singapore. She is a designer of home accessories and was coming to Bali for work to meet some of her suppliers.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.206s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb