Welcome to Baliiiiiii ☺️


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Seminyak
April 24th 2018
Published: April 24th 2018
Edit Blog Post

As I landed in Bali, a wave of nostalgia and a flood of memories swept over me. With tears in my eyes, I realised I was here 20 years ago ... with Daddy (& mama as well of course). Wow, I’m not really the sentimental type either so I’ve no idea where that came from ?. Must have got some dust in my eye or something ?
Oh by the way the pictures on the way to the plane are in Yogya...yes the airline hands out umbrellas for you to walk to the plane with!!!
Anyway, back to Bali - WELCOME TO BALI BABY!!! Whoooo hoooo! ??
1st impressions compared with Java is how characterful and traditional Bali is even from just stepping into the airport, with the staff dressed in traditional dress and lots of Balinese “stuff” in the arrivals hall, oh and the building itself is beautiful! ?

My driver, yes my personal driver, was waiting with a sign “miss Anita” at the airport for me and drove me for 40 minutes to my hotel which, was only 15mins away. Yup, if you think you have it bad in Malta or Cyprus with the traffic, come to Bali!!! Bloody hell ?? it’s baaaaad!
On arrival to the hotel (from rags to riches- hostel to hotel /shared transport to private transport - I told you!?), I checked in and smiled at my king size bed ahhhhh (and no prayer calls at god knows what time in the AM as it’s predominantly Hindu here), and went straight to the bar for my long awaited ice cold beer ???.
Here’s where the fun begins... so I’m asking the waiter how far it is to this swanky place called Ku De Ta which a lot of my friends have been raving about and whether I can walk. He checks with the other waiters, clearly doesn’t speak any English, comes back and says “I take you”. I say “really, how much?”. He says “it’s ok”. I say “ok but I need to shower and change first”. He says “ok I wait you”. I quickly get showered and dolled up for this swanky place, putting on a dress, letting my hair hang loose, but of make up, you know ... a bit smarter than “tramp” ? and present myself at the reception. “Ok we go” he says, grabs his keys and we walk to ... wait for it... his SCOOTER! ????
Oh my life ? this takes me back to when I was living in Peru! So on I pop, in a short dress, legs clutching a complete stranger, modesty still in check I might add. No helmet and off we go, zipping through traffic, hair blowing in the wind, dust attempting to aggravate the little make up I have on. Well, I came for an adventure and 3 days in, it doesn’t disappoint! ?
I arrive at Ku De Ta in one piece, modesty in check, a bit windswept but greeted with smiles and welcomes by the umpteen security guards. I walk in to a beautiful restaurant/ bar with chill out music. “Table for one?” they ask. “Yes please, overlooking the sea please”. WOW! ?
And the rest entails good food, great cocktails and an evening of pure bliss and endulgence ???
Not really a “meet people” place but hey ... this is “me time”. Cheers, until the next installment ?
PS. Ok so I moved on to a place called Potato Head ... ha ha ha, another swanky joint! ??



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0194s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb