Lovina


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Lovina
January 12th 2009
Published: February 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The beachThe beachThe beach

It was a stormy day!
We headed to Lovina for a few days in the hope of escaping the rain for a while. The weather was much better during the day time but still we experienced heavy rains during the evenings - we didnt mind so much as we chose a place to stay in kalibukbuk with an amazing balcony where we were happy to while away several hours. While looking for the room we also found a great and good value place to eat - AJ's pizza (sounds western but in fact was a really small warung (only 2 tables!) that did great Indonesian food (like Pepes, nasi gorang and gado gado) and nice pizza too). The owners (mother and daughter - Addy and Maddy) couldn't do enough for us - looking after our bags while we tramped around for a room, taking me to the bank in Singaraja on their moped and making us a special meal on our last night.

It was easy to meet people in Kalibukbuk as locals, fellow tourists (I met 3 social workers!) and ex pats were all really friendly. Whilst here I was able to see the draw that this part of Bali has for people - it is laid back and relaxing and the area is beautiful with some stunning scenery. On the bus ride up I was amazed by the views of Danau Bratan and Gunung Backar (the mountains and lakes) - I just didnt like the monkeys that lined sections of the road....

Lovina itself stretches along 8km of black sand beach - the black sand doesnt really appeal to me I have to say but the beach was lovely (just a shame as soon as you step foot on it you are constantly asked if you want to go on a boat trip!!). As a non surfer even I could see the surf was good - the tide was a bit to strong for me to go swimming though so I stuck to the hotel pool!

While in Lovina we decided to head for the Gilli Islands via Candidasa - Candidasa doesnt (in my book) warrant a blog of its own but we went and stayed in probably our most beautifully located room to date - it was literally next to the sea...other than that I'd pass on Candidasa (next time - we'll go to Amed instead - after a flying visit that looked like a more atmospheric town,



Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb