Does everybody know what time it is? Yoga Time!


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Balian
March 25th 2009
Published: March 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, even I have to admit that joke was lame. I still don't care. Why? Because I'm in Bali.

I don't have much time, but I just wanted to let everyone know I made it to my yoga training as scheduled. I'm already planning in my head what I'm going to leave behind to make room for all the cool souvenirs in my bag.

I've only had 2 days of the training so far. It's not really that "hard" yet, but the heat intensifies everything. We meditate for half an hour in morning which is quite the challenge. Thinking of nothing is quite the concept to wrap my head around. Always has been. Then we do an hour and a half of yoga. It's all typical vinyasa flow so far, except i'm slipping around near the end due to the extreme amounts of sweat pouring out of my body. It's good to sweat all those toxins out, but the amounts of it is just incredible. I'm not a sweater either. It just gets so ridiculously hot. Anyway, after the class we finally eat breakfast. Lots of people here are saying it's horrible not eating first thing in the morning, but I'm okay with it. The food is amazing. It's showing me all sorts of vegetarian foods that i didn't even know existed. After breakfast, we do a 3 hour class about philosophy, history or an in-depth look at the poses. The philosophy and history can be really boring because all she does is talk for 3 hours and we just sit on the floor uncomfortably listening. Today we learned how to teach some poses which was sooo cool, but challenging too. I didn't realize how hard it would be to pick the right words. I'm sure it'll come naturally eventually. After that, we eat lunch (YESSSSSSSSS) then another 3 hour class, supper and bed time. So it's really all-day yoga. Thankfully there's a little time for internet, but not much.

Last night the staff put together a little dance number for us. It was so cool. Balinese dance is so cool. Then the girls started pulling up people from the audience. When I went up, I started immitating her moves. It was so funny. I'll post some pictures when I get the chance. Oh and there was a frog in our room. That was interesting too lol.

My roommate Lauren is really cool. She lives in Boston. I'm really glad I was matched up with her. It's her first time travelling... she reminds me of me when I went to Ecuador 2 years ago. In many ways, she's soo prepared, but not at all in others... just like I was in Ecuador! lol We are staying in a little 2 story hut. I have the upstairs room. We have a little balcony that's right in front of one of the pools. PERFECT! I'm slowly getting used to going up and down stairs all day. I'm working on adopting a "buns of steel" mentality. Instead of hating the stairs, I'm going to look forward to my hot ass of steel in 3 weeks lol.

So ya, everything is going really well for me. Getting up at 6 is no problem... but that's because it's about 3pm in Canada. Since i'm naturally used to waking up at 3pm, there really wasn't much jet lag. Sad, but true. I've got to run, but I'll post again soon!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb