Help Keep India Clean


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
April 11th 2013
Published: April 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Dusty, yes, but nowhere as filthy is Kathmandu when compared to any city in India. I’d forgotten what it was like not to see trash everywhere you glance. In fact, India has redefined the word “filthy” for me, and I truly believe that I’ll use the word much more sparsely back home. So, it is not a surprise that we learned today in a Kathmandu clinic that we have giardia: we’d been breathing in fecal matter for over a month (yes, yes… and it’s partially my fault because I thought I had an “Indian stomach”).



I came to the conclusion long ago that I’m not a person that is going to change the world: I neither have the wherewithal, nor the desire. And now that we’ve left India, I’m sure my mind and capricious sentiments will move on to something else. But there are organizations out there that are committed to cleaning India up. If I have one Sally Struthers moment, it’ll be this - they need your help.

We'll be helping out the cows as well if, at the very least, we can segregate the trash they eat, so they don't have to sift through all that plastic.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

happy cow fourhappy cow four
happy cow four

we've got about three hundred pics like this


Tot: 0.204s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb