Cochi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 30th 2012
Published: November 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

sitting waiting for my dinner to arrive. Wifi does not work well from the room, so brought the little I-pad down here. There is live music, tabla player, and some sort of flute and they are making lovely music.

Not used to being on my own, and it will take a day or so to adjust. Meals alone are quite different from the community of ten I just left. However, the food is much, much better here.

Did a tour of Cochi this morning with a lovely female guide. I did not realize Fort Cochi was so small and touristy.would have been just fine on my own, but she was very knowledgable and had lots of information I would not have had otherwise, and she was very fun, so i don't regret it all. We went to the palace of the former kings of Kerala. It is really very modest. Interesting reason...succession was matralineal, the son of the oldest daughter became king, so,the wealth was spread around rather than passing from father to son. Also, they seemed to be good eggs, and did not treat their citizens badly. There are wonderful wall paintings of the Ramayana, but of course,
no photography allowed.

We also went to an old synagogue. It has been here for centuries, and is th oldest synagogue in the commonwealth. Few Jews left, most of them have gone to Isreal, so only 8 people left, and they are all old. Jews,have been here since 79 a.d. Yup, is right right...who knew?.....I understand Jews visiting the area will make a trip on Friday evening so services can be held (they need a minimum of ten men, women don't count).

Came across a shop that is a women's coop, and bought some spices. Nice to know the producers are making a fair wage.

Fort Cochi is not what I expected. Much calmer than Delhi, the traffic is almost sane. There are many, many churches, most catholic. Also Hindus and Jain. According to my guide, all live in harmony. The Hindus here are not considered real Hindus by the rest of India....hardly any caste system and they eat I would

I would describe fort Cochi as the cape cod of India. Have not been to Goa, but things are pretty relaxed here. Lots of hotels and restaurants. From all I have heard, it sounds a wonderful state to explore, and I am sorry I am not seeing more.

so many folks have Visited and traded here, the Chinese way, way back, then the Dutch and Portuguese. Vasco de Gama died here, and was buried in what is now an Anglican Church for 14 years (then catholic) before he was dug up and taken back to Portugal.

At the waters edge there are huge fishing nets looking like nothing I have ever seen e before. The Chinese taught the Keralians how to fish in this manner. There is a huge net, supported with bamboo poles. As the tide comes in, the nets are dipped into the Arabian sea. The catch is sold at the waters edge. The shrimp are HUGE. Will attach a photo od the nets and the fish, if I can.



Weather is very hot and humid, but I won't speak of it again, promise.

almost forgot...I have changed rooms. They did not have another room of the type I am in, but they offered me a discount on a big room upstairs, it really is a sweet suite. Appropriately, it is called The Princess Suite. Honest. Feel safe and secure there, so worth paying the upgrade, me thinks.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.229s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb