"i'm dead." - starving man.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 13th 2009
Published: October 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I couldn't make out his his name when I asked him. He was literally skin in bones; the type you see on late night tv and you change the channel because that is not what you wish to see. His cheek bone were as a skull, all his ribs were evident, and his eyes were dark. He asked me if I could rub his hair as he lay there looking at me. Of course I did this but I felt ashamed at my hesidancy to even touch him. After I poured a cup of water into his mouth he turned his head from me a few minutes as i continued to stoke his head as my mom did for my when i was young. He turned to me with a tear filling one eye and said, "I'm dead."

In fact, he probably will be. Two just died yesterday. This is the original house that mother teresa founded for the dieing and destitude. The nuns find men and women on the street and bring them into the home to hopefully nurse them back to health, but most of the time instead what they receive is peaceful and loving death. There were about 50 in all i would guess. Our job was to give massages, change pants, help feed ect.

I have never seen starvation first hand. It is overwhelming and I can't write much on it at this time because i just got back an hour ago. There is much to learn from this. The realities of the world. We ignore it. We try to be indifferent. But these multitudes are people, individuals with names and hopes, who simple found themselve helpless...and dead.

Another volunteer told me that one a couple days ago he found a man dead, starved, laying in the metro...people were walking right by him. it makes me despise the 'rich' indians for this indifference...but maybe we also walk right by them in our own way. Maybe i am no better.


Volunteering with mother teresa's mission was great. I served at a couple different places and it is all worthwhile. I served with people from india, spain, germany, uk, france, new zealand, austrailia, and may more. some of which have been multiple times. some of which are on leave from grad school. there is plenty good in the world as well.


by the way...thank you all for your comments...i can't tell how it is an encouragement.

Advertisement



13th October 2009

wow
Wow Jason, it's crazy that you are experiencing this aspect of life. I'm sure that these memories will change you forever. Thanks for giving us a glimpse of what you are seeing. I love you!
13th October 2009

painful, hard to picture in my mind. Im sipping tea and typing on my laptop comfortable and happy. Sad.
13th October 2009

service
In a world filled with people who hope for change yet leave the actual labor to others, you are a shining beacon. Never underestimate yourself and what you do - each act of kindness and love will reap many rewards for mankind......take care
13th October 2009

hi jason!
Jason, love the updates. I am so proud of you. God is doing some amazing work through you! Blessings, Jackie
13th October 2009

wow this can really make one think... i couldnt imagine what it would be like to see first hand, that's certainly NOT something you see from day to day here. We eat to leisure and glutony.. it makes me sick to think about. :( i know im guilty of walking past without a care sometimes. im really glad youre there helping i hope this inspires others to do the same i know it does me. hope your trip continues to be a great mission thru God.! <3, miranda oakes!
13th October 2009

Amazing
All I can say is Amazing... the things you are seeing, the people you are meeting, the impact it is making on your heart... amazing
13th October 2009

"For the Lord your God is God of gods and Lord of lords, the great God, mighty and awesome, who shows no partiality and accepts no bribes. He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow, and loves the alien, giving him food and clothing. And you are to love those who are aliens, for you yourselves were aliens in Egypt. Fear the Lord your God and serve him. Hold fast to him and take your oaths in his name. He is your praise; he is your God, who performed for you those great and awesome wonders you saw with your own eyes." Deut. 10: 17-22 May God bless you for your willingness to be used by Him to accomplish His good work. You are in my prayers. Traci Carr (Danielle Reed's Foster Mom)
14th October 2009

i can picture it
While in Calcutta we spent a few hours in Mother Teresa's House for the Destitute and Dying. I will never forget it. Ever. There is a saddness that goes with seeing hopelessness that I can not describe. And as grateful as I was that those people were receiving care and were not alone in their last days, it was a hallow satisfaction because I knew they were on the edge of eternity. There physical needs were being addressed and for that I was grateful, exceedingly grateful. But I could feel "time" and "eternity" in the place and it was sobering. People all over each large room waiting..... simply waiting....to be done with this life. To die. I felt helpless and I remember longing for the gift of healing. I wanted the power of Paul and Silas, of Peter and others who raised the dead and healed the sick and delivered the tormented. I wanted the language barrirer gone and I wanted more time with them and I wanted Jesus to walk into the room and make all the difference that needed to be made!! I'm trying to describe it and I just can't. But I will never forget it. And it reminds me even now that: we NEED saving. Jesus is the hope of the world. His coming as Emmanuel matters. He came into this mess, Jason. He is not a God faraway or untouched by the feelings of mankind's infirmities. The best part of WHO He is, in my opinion, is Emmanuel, God WITH us. Mercies on us. Mercies on them. And God bless you to hear with your heart what difference in the world He wants to make through you. I'm praying for you, brother.
14th October 2009

(none)
Jason, part of me feels as if I would benefit from your experiences greatly, and i'm sure I would, but part of me is also terrified to ever have to be put into some of the situations. Figuratively, we all walk by and ignore the spiritually dead that we come into contact with every day, walking by like they are just another crack in the sidewalk. You're most definately an inspiration to me, and many others I'm sure. Keep up the God work.
14th October 2009

i'm dead
Jason, Rachel and I pray for you every day. Few people are willing to step into the reality you just described. You are an inspiration to me. Thank you for living by example. Keep on. Brandon
14th October 2009

Jason
Hey Jason I'm glad God is working through you. Being Jesus to other people is best example of Christ you can be. Keep us posted. I love you man. Dylan Underhill
14th October 2009

encouragement
Jason your comments have touched me, they make me think how easy my service to God has been. I have experienced death twice first hand, and even when it is a loved one it is scary. I am proud of you and honored to know such a fine christian man as you. You are constantly in Ken and I's prayers. We hope to be at church the week you are there to hear about your trip first hand, if we are not know that we love you and will always consider you a part of our family. It is good to hear that God is giving you strength to minister as you need it, I have experinced this many times myself. Be safe, we look forward to seeing you soon. Love, Ken and Sandy Montgomery
14th October 2009

well i am glad that you are doing alright over there. It is rough reading some of those things but it does make me realize how blessed i truly am. take care of yourself and i will keep in touch. when you get back we deff. need to talk and see about some type of visit to get the ladies together. love ya, p.s any cool bikes over there? :)
14th October 2009

Proud of You
Jason, I'm proud of you for the steps of faith you are taking and excited to see how God uses the experience to shape you and your ministry. You are in our prayers. Seriously. We told Will and once that boy starts praying about something he won't let you forget. The big news around here is that Kate is starting to pee in the toilet!!! Lots of great things happening with church plants too. I just finished up with six new starts and am working on a new crew. I love my work. Hopefully we'll see you around the holidays.
14th October 2009

Wow...
Not sure what else to say Jason.... what an experience. You AND them are in our prayers.
15th October 2009

Amazing
What a great thing you are able to do. You were able to comfort and be Jesus to a man who was dying and needed to feel loved. Hope you don't mind, but I shared this entry with my high school girls group. They were speechless-which doesn't happen very often! We prayed for you and some even committed to pray for you the whole duration of your trip. I can't wait to read more!! You are such an encourager and I hope that you are able to do more than what you thought possible. I pray that God helps you and gives you the strength you need daily for your many adventures! I am soo proud of you and I love you dearly!! Praying for you!!
16th October 2009

Keep it up!
Hey Bro'! Man..what an experience for you. I'm so glad that God brought you there to love on that man. That's something that you will never forget. I really appreciate you sharing these blogs with the rest of the world. They slap us into the reality of the world we live in. Thanks for being Jesus over there man. Keep up the good work and know that you are being lifted up in prayer. Can't wait to here what God does next. Love ya man. Be Bold and Courageous! Your Brother, Andy PS. Oh... I've got some good news for you man. Sam Stevens is going to JBC next semester!
16th October 2009

jason, i am so glad you are sharing all these stories. even having a friend see and go through things like that makes me feel closer to the situation. because you are so right! we see those commercials on t.v. about the starving people in other countries all the time and look away. simply because it actually hurts to look at it and if we don look at it, we can pretend like its not real. the closest ive come to that is helping with homeless people and im sure that doesn even compare since they are still fed by different organizations we have in america. when i was in mexico building a home for this family, they had saved up for months just to have enough money to buy the ingredients necessary to build a cake for us to say hank you... things like that make you realize so much about your life and the lives of others. unfortunately, we do live selfish lives here. anyway, thank you again. im so glad you are able to reach out to these people. keep up the amazing work :)
25th October 2009

Praying for you
Hi Jason, Wanted you to know Will is praying for you as well as Doug and I. We are hoping to see you at Thanksgiving and hear more about your trip. I am very proud of you. I love you and pray for your safety and boldness. I am also praying for those you meet to have an open heart and mind to hear what you have to say. I don't expect you to change lives on such a short trip (at least not theirs, maybe yours), but you are planting or watering lots of seeds. I can tell by your logs. Proud of you! Love Mandy

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0296s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb