"welcome to india"


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 8th 2009
Published: October 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

No question about it, India is not shy. I had forgotten just how vivid the colors, the intensity of the smell, the feel of the heat, and the rawness of the people. It can be overwhelming but also intoxicating at the same time. India: fillthy but beautiful, chaotic but enchanting, traditional but modern, poverty but wealth, you hate it but you love it. Welcome to India.

Arriving in the airport I connected with a very friendly couple from Canada. We all shared a taxi together, but perhaps picked the wrong driver. At first I thought, "sweet, this guy is the fastest on the road and i'm sure he is knows what he is doing." However, the next moment i was thinking, "Look forward! Traffic is stopped ahead of you!" Of course, I am a bit too polite and he didn't take notice. it wasn't until the lovely canadian girl screamed from the back seat to 'STOP' that he finally turned his head.

Of course, it was too late. After a 20 yard skid...crash. Not too bad, everyone is ok. the car ahead of us have the trunk smashed in, and our car's bumper is pushed into the plastic. Welcome to India.

We finally make it to our hostel in what looks like a dark, creepy part of town. Actually, it is the main bazaar of Delhi and very happening in the daylight. But at night, it just looks dirty. I felt very lonely last night and missed rachel and the conforts very much. Being truthful, i was felt I shouldn't be here.

I was unable to sleep so I went out for a walk at about 5 in the morning. A polite Indian man began to make conversation with me and we had chai and conversation for about 2 hours or so. He is an Islamic family man who is simply making a living for his family. He gave me his number and invited me to stay with him and his family just outside of delhi when i pass through again. I think I will take him up on this offer in a few weeks.

I have been connecting with many other backpackers and just chumming around town with them. I feel very excited to get moving on from Delhi as I spent a number of days here in my last visit and have no interest in sight seeing. My train leaves just a couple hours and i will be in Varanasi in the morning. the conversations with Indians have been very enlightening and I am trying to stay engaged with as many people constantly as it helps with loneliness.

thank you all for your prayers. I look forward to my next update.

Advertisement



8th October 2009

Arent you the little writer
Hey JESEN (ha ha) well well well that first little paragraph made me feel like I was watching a Discovery Channel special on India starring Jason Koster. Sweet writing skills buddy! So... at night you felt like you shouldn't be there and because of that you couldn't sleep, which made you get up early, and then God was like "good...you're awake! Here Jason... I have someone I would like for you to meet." ummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...hello.... AWESOME! Soak it all up brother because God is using this trip to do some crazy cool stuff in your life. Still prayin for you like crazy. - StacEy =)
9th October 2009

Hey, Jason! We were just thinking of you, so we said a prayer. Many more of those to come! God is using you in such an extraordinary way. In a way, I envy you. Then again, I would be a little afraid. What an experience!! Looking with anticipation for your next blog!
10th October 2009

Jas-meistah! Sounds like a very eventful start to your journey! We are happy to hear you have arrived safely. Kim and I are going to be enjoying reading this and we are glad you are blogging. I am going to be praying over you and this trip man. I know God is going to use you in mighty ways and we are so excited to see that fruit! Be blessed, remain faithful, and know that you have a lot of people who support and love ya over in the US.
11th October 2009

Hey Buddy, Glad that you made it! Sounds like the Taxi Driver got his license in Haiti. LOL. I'm praying for you man! God's going to do some cool stuff with you over there. Stay strong and be safe! We love you! Looking forward to your next update!
11th October 2009

the beauty of india
The gray and the grime of the city and traffic contrasting the vivid beauty of the fabrics on the women of india, riding the back of the bicycles behind their men, sometimes balancing a child on their lap -- this is a picture among pictures I have in my mind of the India I saw It is indeed a place of contrast. Blessings brother. I find myself praying that you will have a "hearing heart."
12th October 2009

hey jason! hope your doing ok. were all praying for you. stay safe!
12th October 2009

Thank you
Hey Jason, you are in our thoughts and prayers. May God move in and through you daily -- hourly -- as you serve the least of these.
12th October 2009

Hey Jason!! Our traveling nephew! You are such an inspiration!! So happy to read of your safe arrival. As I read your blogs, it is as if we are sitting in the living room listening to your voice. Keep them coming. . . I will be eagerly checking on you each day. May our good Lord keep you safely in the palm of His hand as you reach out to his children that don't and need to know Him. God bless and we love you dearly!!!
12th October 2009

(none)
It's hard to imagine such a hospitable country. Think about if you would've taken a walk in Downtown Roanoke at 5 in the morning. The most interaction you would've gotten would've been strange looks from the people in the cars driving by on the street. It makes me think about how many more people we could show Jesus to if we all stopped and talked to strangers like they seem to do there in India. Yes, sometimes it would put us in a bit of a pickle, but I feel as if it would often result in making a new friend and possibly a new brother or sister in Christ. I bet these people will never forget the tall American they once met in October 2009. I'll keep you in my prayers. love, Emilee
16th October 2009

Wow! I cannot believe all of that happened right after you arrived! I am so glad you are alright and that you finally made it to India. I think its right where God has wanted you and He waited for the timing to be right. Im so excited for you and that I get to read these blogs! By the way, after reading this, I felt like I should mention that my sister got in a car accident last night. It was very scary but she only has bruising and is okay! You people need to stop getting in accidents. Freaks me out! Praying for you friend!! Love, Hayley

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 4; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb