Nepal - India Border


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
December 11th 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I crossed the border into India from my beloved Nepal on the 11th of December on foot. There are two big gates one reading “Welcome to India” and the other “Welcome to Nepal” on each side of no mans land, the little strip in between the two countries.
It is funny to think that one is crossing into another country when everything looks exactly the same. The fact that you have arrived on Indian soil though, is marked immediately by the first rip off scam.
Just seconds after crossed the Border, I was told such an extensive fib that I actually believed it and fell for the first Indian Scam! The Immigration officer himself convinced me to exchange all my Nepalese Rupees ( I stupidly drew to much cash from the ATM a couple of days before and was still stuck with it, not thinking to exchange it at a Bank) right there and then at a little corner shop that he took me to, at a completely ridiculous exchange rate. He told me very convincingly that Nepali Rupees are illegal in India and that this was the only place I could exchange them. When I suggested holding on to them instead he said that the local authorities seize all Nepali Rupees from anyone who dares bring them into the country. I was told that I would be searched further down the road and for my own safety, I should take this opportunity to exchange the money there.
In my defense, I was not willing to have a bust up with any Indian Law; my main concern was to get to Mumbai in one piece, so I did it. Even though I knew I was being conned.
I pride myself on being an avid traveler, my exotic features making me look like a native in many different countries and my knowledge of the way things function in Nepal and the Middle East has protected me and made me feel that there is no place I can not travel to.
Yet India has always made me a little nervous and was it not for Andy flying into Mumbai, I would have probably avoided the country all together.
But, never one to do things half heartedly, I decided to hop on a train in Gorakhpur for 40 odd hours and according to my plan see the country side through the train window and arrive in Mumbai on evening ahead of Andy.
Still biting my fingernails and kicking myself for my stupidity I got into a jeep that took me to Gorakhpur, a three hour drive away.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.271s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb