Varanasi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
October 17th 2008
Published: October 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Our first muslim temple in DelhiOur first muslim temple in DelhiOur first muslim temple in Delhi

I liked watching the mongoose!
Hello,

I've been told I am not updating enough... If you saw what I have to work with here you would understand! The whole country seems to be plagued with rolling blackouts that only seem to happen when Becca decides to sit down and write something... So in actuality I have written quite a few blogs - - most will remain in virtual cyberspace and end up pooped out into the Ganges eventually (like everything else here)

I finally got off the Ganges and was sad to leave my favorite Indians thus far. Mohan and Vjay, our boatmen. They were adorable and we had a blast. We landed in Varanasi which is the religous center of the universe. My first experience here was stepping a load of cow shit (I'm hoping that's what it was). We happened to be here during a huge festival which was absolutely thrilling to watch (from our boat). The first night we stood in the crowd and I seemed to have a constant flow of hands in my pockets by the cute little youngster wanting to find ruppes. The festival to me, seemed like a Hindu version of the light parade at Disneyland. Huge
World class chapati makerWorld class chapati makerWorld class chapati maker

Learning how to make chapati. My new Indian husband will be so proud!
floats would come down the streets all day and night long. Kids would light off these fireworks to announce their presence (which sounded a lot like a bomb the first few times!). The floats were like Disney floats but done by someone on mushrooms. They were terrifying. Women with elephant trunks for arms, and elephants with actual women for arms. Wow. Then they would jump around a bunch singing and dump these highly elaborate and expensive floats in to the Ganges! Very interesting...

We spent a few days here and did some shopping and spent some time on the Ghats (which are the famous stairs that lead down into the Ganges). I've been having the most fun interacting with the local people (once you've seen one temple you've really seen them all). Our guide and my new friend Javid says I need to smile less. Whatever that means? We had a really nice driver (although he looked like an Indian version of Skeletor) home one day and, much to horror of my buddy that day, I asked him if I could drive the rickshaw! He agreed. It was awesome. I'm hooked. Mom, new Christmas wish list. Find me an
India gateIndia gateIndia gate

memorial for the war veterans
autorickshaw.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Best food I've hadBest food I've had
Best food I've had

Boatmen really know how to make some good Indian food!
Boatmen styleBoatmen style
Boatmen style

I even rowed the boat for awhile and wore a turban. I have no idea what they thought of me - but I taught them a secret handshake and I think we'll be friends forever!
AhhhhAhhhh
Ahhhh

I heart rickshaws


Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0758s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb