The difficulties of long distance planning


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
March 10th 2008
Published: March 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, not a great deal has happened since my last entry, except that I feel confident I'll have at least one reliable travel companion. Ann contacted me, and has already proven adventurous and resourceful, so we seemed destined to explore at least Assam together. Jay, an American guy, seems likely to be coming along too, though less certain at this stage. Along the way, I've had other contacts, but for various reasons they've had to, or chosen to, drop out.
Still, two and possibly three, travellers makes the chances much better for at least finding the numbers and getting permits into Arunachal Pradesh and Nagaland, Inshallah.

Abid, the motorcycle tour organiser, seems to be having some bureaucratic issues with getting his business all set up (let alone getting the numbers of riders needed)...I still have my fingers crossed though, and have planned to lug some motorcycle gear with me.

Nino, my original "traditional" tour operator, still hasn't gotten back with quotes...so I guess in the end the trip won't be all that planned after all!!

Preparations continue here at home - For money, I've decided to take a mix of Travellers cheques and electronic cards which should easily work in Thailand and hopefully in Kolkata and Guwahati at least.

I decided to get an International Drivers/riders permit...just in case I happen to be riding in Koh Chang or India
and something goes seriously wrong - otherwise my insurance won't be valid, AND the local law people might get upset. Lucky I'm an NRMA member or it would have cost me $50!!! A pretty silly price for a little cardboard book with some red stamps in it!!, but, like travel insurance, something you are happy to have paid for when things go pear-shaped.

For medication I decided to use mainly Doxy anti-malarials in Assam (high risk area)...but just to use DEET and nets at Koh Chang. Even so, I'll be on medication for way too long for my liking - though contracting Malaria is much worse!! My doctor informed me Doxy is pretty good at killing Cholera and several other bugs as well - it's certainly much cheaper than Malarone!

I received some more bad news the other day regarding my Confluence Project attempts. The Science Faculty can't loan me their best GPS (which is a Garmin Gecko - nice and light, simple to use) because the period I want it is exactly the time of year they do GPS with their classes..*L*. Luckily they can spare the old Magellan - but IS it heavy?!!!!! and reputedly chews batteries. I'm now testing it to see that it's reliable enough.
Three weeks to go!

Advertisement



31st March 2008

G'Day
It is good to hear you are alive and well. I am sure the students will get a kick out of blogging with you. I will ensure something is in next weeks newsletter.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0347s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb