South India tour December 2007


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India
January 9th 2008
Published: January 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Just back from incredible 3-week trip to Tamil Nadu and Kerala. Itinerary was Chennai - Mahabalimuram - Kanchipuram - Tiruvanamallai - Chindabaram - Pondicherry - Chettinadu - Trichy - Rameswaram - Madurai - Periyar - Allepey - Kochi. The highlights for me were definitely in Tamil Nadu rather than Kerala, which I found very pretty but too touristy (especially the houseboat experience which I didn't appreciate much at all). Best towns visited were Tiruvanamallai (wow) and Trichy. Madurai was a bit of a disappointment though I know many people are crazy about it. In all this was one of the best trips I've ever had (and I have had many).

I did the trip by car with driver - for me this was ideal. I went through Mokshatours who I thoroughly recommend. Paid about £20 a day all in. My driver, Suryapradeep, was amazing - took me to places not on the itinerary because he knew there'd be photo ops for me, found hotels within my price range etc. He even invited me to a wedding in Madurai! The company boss phoned me every three days to check everything was OK...amazing service, really.

Will try and get some photos uploaded soon.

Martyn


Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb