wonderful day


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had some truly inspiring experiences today. We visited community meetings in 2 rural villages. The best part was, after the meetings (one on changes in the village community, one on disaster preparedness) there was a Q & A session between my fellow Americans and the villagers. In the first village, they asked us questions about what our houses were made of (mud, or cement?) and what the predominate religions were in America. I complimented their beautiful, verdant rice paddies and well-fed cows and goats. At one point some of the women inquired as to my marital status, and when they found out I was single, offered to find me a local bride.

On the way to the disaster preparedness meeting, Ivy (our native Bengali NGO guide) told me that if I were to marry a local girl, she would only be 14-16 years old, to which I responded that I would need to marry two in order for it be OK. After all, two 16 year olds equals one 32 year old. Ivy was amused by what she thought was my sense of humor. I, however, am incapable of humor and was completely serious.

The second meeting featured good tips about diarrhea treatment, dry storage of important documents and food, CPR, and how to carry a child during floods. After Q & A, many of the people came up and got our autographs. As it turns out, yesterday we were filmed at a scholarship award ceremony, and featured on local TV! I feel like a Bollywood filmi star. We also danced with some villagers to the music played by a local tribal wedding procession. The beauty of the countryside in West Bengal is only exceeded by the physical and spiritual beauty of the people here.

Advertisement



14th July 2008

Hi from Seattle
Brendan, I just found your bolg. Very interesting to read and see the pictures. I like pictures you should add more. (Either I am not very literate or extremely literate as a picture is worth a thousand words.) Take care. ; )

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 66; dbt: 0.0776s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb