Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
August 27th 2006
Published: August 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Kolkata is submerged. Everywhere you look, huge swathes of pavement lie hidden under water that's neither brown nor green, turning parts of town into a no-go area for those of us too wimpish to stride through the stagnant mini pavement ponds.

Journey from London reasonably uneventful. Surpisingly security light- I wasn't searched or anything, tho was aware of the occasional random check going on around me.

We landed at about 5.15am this morning, and after a few hairy moments waiting for my little rucksack to make its debut performance on the carousel (actually, it was more than a few moments!) I left the airport to find it pissing down. Managed to locate the cab driver that the hotel had sent, and here I am.

This morning, after a couple of hours kip, went and found the foreigners railway booking office, and booked my ticket to NJP, for tomorrow night. From there the plan is to go to gangtok, either directly or via Darjeeling, I haven't decided yet.

Had a quick suint round parts of Kolkata today, but am a bit tired after my round the world jaunt, so have come back to have a quick squint at the Sudder Street area, where my hotel is, and that'll probably be it for today.

Please feel free to get in touch, either by leaving me a message here, or by emailing me.

Advertisement



28th August 2006

Monsoon in Kolkata !
Glad to see you managed to find your rucksack. Did the identifying tag help? Sounds as tho the monsoon could be a bit of a problem but I expect you'll get lots of advice on what to do to lessen it's impact. We are all well here. Tim is pleased with his directing at Hollyrood - have recorded parts of the prog. Hope the rest of your trip goes smoothly. Keep in touch. Love Mum

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb