It's all Happening and Sooooo Good!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
February 24th 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The PoolThe PoolThe Pool

A view of the hotel pool from my room on the "unlucky for some" 13th floor. Never got to use it though! Too much to do.
You know how when you're really looking forward to something and you sometimes built it up out of all proportion, then you are let down? Well not this time. Everything is even better than I thought possible.
Athough nearly everyone on the plane to Chennai (Madras) was Indian, in the same row but the other side of the aisle was another white face. Cat and I started chatting and she used to live in Adelaide. She wasn't sure of where to stay in Chennai so we ended up sharing a room together at the Hotel Mars. Funny how things work out.
Once I arrived in Kolkata, I got a pre paid taxi from the airport to Debasis' house, although I left all my notes, addresses and phone numbers on the counter where I bought the taxi voucher and had to run back there before the taxi left. Phew! So I arrived at this guys house and I didn't have any idea who is was, apart from the fact that Ruchira, my host was going to join us for dinner later. He was lovely and we chatted easily. Then Ruchira, her two daughters and two other couch surfers she is hosting (William
Hotel RoomHotel RoomHotel Room

Toby suggested that I stay in town rather than at Singapore transit hotel at the airport, what a great idea, cheaper too! My beautiful room at the Orchard Parade Hotel right on Orchard Road.. Big fluffy pillows, pure white linen, ahhhhhh! Luxury.
and Jenny, really lovely people) arrived and we all had a delicious dinner together. Then we all squeezed into a taxi for Ruchira's place where we met an American girl who was also staying. What a houseful, but what fun. I still managed to score my own room. Yes!
Ruchira is the sweetest, most caring, funny, intelligent person. What a wonderful first time couch surfing experience for me. I know we will be long time friends.
Last night we all has a wonderful Bengali dinner at a tiny restaurant and there a French/African CS (couch surfer) met up with us and he asked if he could join me on my trip up to Darjeeling. So I may have company, especially in the cab from Bagdogra airport. It's about 90km so a long trip. It may be nice to share with someone, although I do find his accent very hard to understand. I may just have to pretend to fall asleep!
One thing in India, you never feel lonely.
I am so happy and feel I am exactly where I should be!
Bye for now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The ViewThe View
The View

A green, lush view from my window of downtown Singapore.
The terminal at Singapore airportThe terminal at Singapore airport
The terminal at Singapore airport

Hang on, am I already in India? Not another white face to be seen. And yes, it definately was the "Budget" terminal.
The Hotel Mars.The Hotel Mars.
The Hotel Mars.

Overnight at the Hotel Mars, near Chennai airport. Not quite as plush as Singapore. The sheets were like sandpaper and grey and the pillow was a block of hard rubber. Thank you Lauren for my travel pillow. Still loved being in India again though.
Hotle Mars BathroomHotle Mars Bathroom
Hotle Mars Bathroom

Not like Singapore and no hot water, but at least there was water. I've known worse!
View from the Hotel Mars windowView from the Hotel Mars window
View from the Hotel Mars window

Ahhh, now I know I am in India.
First dinnerFirst dinner
First dinner

From Kolkata airport straight to Debasis' (guy on right with his son) house for dinner. This is were I eventually met Ruchira who is hosting me. William, a Swiss couchsurfer on the left with Antara, Ruchira's eldest daughter.


1st March 2009

wowee
Hey M, sounds amazing so far I am so glad it is as good as you thought it would be, and just like always your making lots of friends. Good work. Love Lex, Sam and Seth (little turtle)

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb