Kolkata (Calcutta)


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
August 11th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here I am in Calcutta, India.

I heard from a couple people that Calcutta was the worst place to start my travels in India, yes it is dirty, yes it is crazy, yes it is overcrowded but I imagine all other big Indian cities will be the same.

I got here mid day yesterday (August 10th) met a Swedish guy in the airport and split a hotel room for around $1.85 Canadian each....

And I'm off tonight on a night train to Varanasi, 700km's north of here. Train travel is one big advantage India has over a lot of other countries, although I only have a month in such a big country I won't really lose any time traveling if I always go at night, which I plan on doing.

I have been enjoying some Indian food, but trying to be careful also, Indian food is quite famous for making you have to well....you get the point. So I will start my vegetarianism early and stay away from meat here, the last thing I want is to get sick with such little time here.

The poverty is quite bad and I have been hassled quite a bit, but it all comes with traveling to places like this. I love India so far, but no doubt there will be times when I will get impatient and frustrated, maybe I had better learn to meditate.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0736s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb