day tin


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
July 5th 2008
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The local man who spoke English the best here asked me where I was from. I told him, and he talked about how "the streets here are alive with electricity, you feel a high just walking around". "All people are the same, there is the good the bad. All of us are good and bad. Then there is the good, the bad, and the ugly." True enough on both counts. He then asked me what I was looking for. "Jesus? You looking for Jesus? Some people say that I am bad but we are all a little bad" I told him that I was looking for "everything". Too vague of an answer for him. "Sex, drugs, rock and roll?" I told him I had already been exposed to those things and didn't need them. I walked away, but smiling. He was smiling too. A genuinely friendly guy, for a possible drug dealer/pimp apradhi.

Successfully left the skeezy place I was staying and made my way with my backpack stuffed to the brim to the dorm-style guest house. 100 rupees a night can't be beat (at least with the Salvation Army closed). So far, the one roomie I have seen appears to be a Mizo who does not speak English (the people running the place barely know a couple of phrases). Still, they seem very nice. Also, there was one bed with a book in Spanish on it. Oh! And they have free cooled, filtered water. This should save me 30 rupees a day easy. The shower water didin't reek of filth, so I took a nice cool shower and now I feel like 42 million rupees.

The place is literally next door to the Mother House on busy AJC Bose Sarani. After relaxing for awhile and playing my clarinet, I decided go take the long way back to Sudder st. to grab some grub and hit the internet "cafe". The plan was to go up AJC Bose until I got to Lenin st, then go down Nehru road to sudder. These are all main arterials. The only people who talk to me are street kids. I offer them some cold "paani" and move on my way. Lenin st. is a rather interesting quasi-industrial area. Lots of small metal working shops off of the street. At Lenin and Free School, i run into a problem. There are cars. Lots of cars. I remember that the way most young folk die while traveling abroad is from traffic accidents, and decide to walk down Free School until I get to Alimuddin, which I know will take me right by Sudder. I get lost briefly, but then realize that I am on the street that the shady hotel I just left was on. Whew.

3 dead dogs and one dog giving birth. Someone should convince the Chinese that dog testicles from an animal that is still alive restore virility, and then the street kids could have a business and there would not be some many dead dogs around.

Advertisement



5th July 2008

the Mizo, people of the hills, >>The Mizo code of ethics or dharma focused on "Tlawmngaihna", an untranslatable term meaning that it was the obligation of all members of society to be hospitable, kind, unselfish, and helpful to others. Tlawmngaihna to a Mizo stands for that compelling moral force which finds expression in self-sacrifice for the service of others.<<
Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb