happy 4th of July


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
July 4th 2008
Published: July 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

It's amazing how much about 16 hours of sleep and a decent meal can improve one's state of mind.

Gonna keep this entry short because time is $- especially when I am paying 20 rupees an hour to stay in contact with y'all.

I got up around 7, had a great meal at Fresh and Juicy for 54 rupees, and did some wandering. I am a bit afraid of getting lost, seeing how all the streets look the same and it's very hard to find addresses and street sings.

Off of Sudder st, I rarely get a second glance from other pedestrians. I've heard that Kolkata is the NYC of India. Perhaps I would have been better prepared if I had ever been to NY before. Or India for that matter.

No TV in my room (and I tried unsuccessfully to negotiate for a discount because of this). All the better- I'm getting much better at Jana Gana Mana on my Clarinet.

Pipping hot food does not give off visible steam here.

Heard on my Transformers Clip-On Radio that the trucker's strike is over. Khoob Bhalo!

Comfortable enough that today I was able to do something I haven't since Taipei. I'm pleased to say that the results were quite solid.

My mission today is to find a cheaper hotel, peferably populated by some Westerners. I'm going to try the Modern Lodge on Sudder and Mirzan Ghalib, and at some point wander on down to Monica House, which is supposed to be friendly, cheap and across the street from the Mother House. Back with the results later.

Oh, and most of the Westerners here appear to be European, many Brits. I haven't had the gall yet to wish one a happy 4th of July.

Advertisement



4th July 2008

i am enjoying ur blogs, plz keep it up
i am enjoying ur blogs, plz keep it up, i am an indian in kolkata only. i wish u all the best in the city of joy.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0558s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb