Kolkata


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
February 10th 2007
Published: March 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I spent about a week in total in Kolkata, visiting the Victoria Memorial, Motherhouse and all the sites. My first impressions were it's big, it's dirty and men still run barefoot here pulling rickshaws - quite shocking. But West Bengalis are very proud of the city's culture, and I I think I glimpsed just a little of the 'other' side of the city, but I must admit the dirt here is worse than anywhere else I have been. Anyway, some nice shops and I met a few interesting people.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Kolkata churchKolkata church
Kolkata church

very English
Homes on Sudder StHomes on Sudder St
Homes on Sudder St

people living under plastic sheets at the side of the road
Park St cemetry - gravestone 2Park St cemetry - gravestone 2
Park St cemetry - gravestone 2

I particularly like the part about how he civilised a Savage Race of Mountaineers who for Ages had existed in a state of Barbarism....!


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb