I Think I'm in Love...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Kolkata
January 5th 2007
Published: January 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so I know I'm in love with Ethiel Chelymore Perpetual Zighe Ndaiya, but I just think I might be in love with this country India as well...

Calcutta is madness; madness heaped upon madness upon madness; insanity and wildlife and blaring horns; the place is a bustling, noisy, assault on the senses; an urban jungle, a human jungle, a jungle jungle; we saw more of the new and strange and inexplicable in our first day than I could write about in ten; people, people everywhere; a celebration of poverty, such exquisite poverty and dereliction; filth fills the air and so does noise and the unexpectedly sweet and pleasant smells of perfume and spices; people jostle and shove and ask way too many questions and they all sound like they're shouting at you because they're every one of them deaf; things are cheap but the only stuff worth buying is the food, and goddamn is the food worth buying; give those beggars a rupee, dance to that music, scoop the daal with your fingers, and hold your wallet tight.

We've only just arrived in this place India, but we'll be crawling through for a while and I think we're really gonna enjoy it.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0274s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb