Last week in India in Darjeeling


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
October 31st 2010
Published: October 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hej,

This is my first English travel blog on my trip around the world. The last few days of my visit to India I will be spending in Darjeeling. It is a relaxed little town, kinda like Dharamsala. Al kinds of different ethnics live here. It almost feels like I'm in Nepal or China. But the people who live here the Gorkha's are a mix of Nepali, Bhutani, Myamari and Chinese people. The people are more relaxed they don't yell as much as in the rest of India. Like in Dharamsala the foreigners here are a mix of trekkers, tourists and alternatives who come to study Tibetan or some other local language. The nature around here is amazing. You get a real nice view on the Himalaya's and on the tea plantations. It's a real good place to go hiking but if you're alone like me it is to expensive. I found a agency with a group leaving tomorrow but it is for 5 days and I only got 3 left. So to bad. The last few days I spend going to the zoo (where I really hated that there were Indian people, they shout at animals for a picture, the can't go to a cage without screaming), the Himalaya Mountaineering Institute, Mirik, some monasteries and Tiger Hill (for a good sunrise around 5am).
The last days I'm going to relax and visit Kalimpong and the last monastery. In Darjeeling I discovered a good place to have lunch and breakfast. Glenary's has the best breakfast, they have real meat like sausages and bacon Jumm.
Well this is my journal for now. Pictures I'll post on Picasaweb: http://picasaweb.google.com/RikHoeven
When I reach Nepal I will write a new one.

Namaste from India.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb