Urgent news from the road


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
April 28th 2010
Published: April 28th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We interupt this regular blog entry with some urgent news from the northern state of Western Bengal.

Our truck was stopped at a road block as part of a national strike yestarday and one of the windows was smashed out. This led to a flurry of activity and eventually the press arrived. See the attachment or search Indian newspapers for details on tourists stranded in Siliguri.

Note that not all tourists are Austraulian and all of us are ok. I will send more details as soon as possible but this internet cafe keeps crashing so must keep it short.

Special note, please thank Dave Morgan for me as I was nominated to speak to the media after mentioning my extensive training. LOL Must learn to keep my mouth shut.

As you can see I am now in darjeeling, heading into the mountains. Lots of stuff to update with some really great photos. probably not able to until katmandhu in about 10 days. Sorry but internet is scetchy at best.

Soccer balls went over great at the orphanage.


http://www.telegraphindia.com/1100428/jsp/siliguri/story_12388282.jsp

Advertisement



29th April 2010

Glad that all is ok! Keep safe!
29th April 2010

phew
Thank God you guys are okay!! Good thing Big Mike was there! haha I'm sure everyone feels safer knowing your on the bus. I know I would. BDHQ misses you!! BE CAREFUL.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb