The school gets a paint job & Jumpers all around.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
March 29th 2009
Published: March 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I walked into school on Monday and the place was looking bright and fresh already. The money that I handed over thanks to Ken has been put to work and the classrooms walls are now pink and the ceilings pale grey. The workmen then proceeded to paint the window and door framed a dark brown and the smell was dreadful. So, after break the entire school took off just a little further down the hill to the botanical gardens. Luckily it was a lovely day and the children had fun running races and playing circle games.
They still have a lot to do, but I am amazed at what can be done for so little money.



As you will have seen from the photos, the school is very basic with very few resources and the children are from poor families and have few clothes. Ian (the ex) was touched by their plight and gave me a token $100 to help out whichever way I thought best. At first I thought of buying resources, but felt that they could just get left in the cupboard, as Indian teachers teach very much by rote and don’t really know how to make good use of resources. So I thought the next best thing would be clothes for the children. Very few of them seem to have any uniform so I mentioned to the head teacher about buying them all a school jumper. She thought this was a great idea, so after school on Monday I set out with two other teachers to buy 20 school jumpers in a variety of sizes. One for each child in the school. I don’t actually think that we have 20 children in the school, but if it helps out some of those who may come in the future, well why not?
As you can see from the photos, the children look wonderful in their new navy blue school jumpers and are a lot warmer too!
It seems amazing that for $100 I have been able to give each child a wool (supposedly) school jumper. There is also a bit left over so I am going to buy each child a pack of coloured pencils, a ruler, an eraser and a pencil sharpener.
They will be ecstatic!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



29th March 2009

Simple gifts
It is very humbling to realise how much difference a simple piece of clothing makes to these children - they must be so proud of what they look like. Please let me know if you need money for anything else. I'd be more than happy to get some to you.
2nd April 2009

Your Kind Offer
Thank you Pauline, I shall definately keep your kind offer of help in mind.

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb