My Triumph!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
March 20th 2009
Published: March 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Binay
You know how sometimes, you walk into a room and automatically click with someone? Well that happened to me on my first day at Surattum Primary School. He was good looking with a very cheeky smile and sparkly eyes. And 10 years old! This kid stood out above the rest as soon as I started teaching. His English isn’t good, but he caught on to what I was saying so quickly and proceeded to help the rest of the kids. (sometimes by doing their work for them or calling out the answers all the time)! He was also second guessing what I was going to do next and was often right. Taught multiplication - got it, taught division - got it, given words to learn - done it.
That night over dinner I mentioned to the major this little boy that is so much brighter than the rest and he said that if I thought he was worthy of being sponsored then he would see what he could do. Well the upshot of it is that my dear bright little button Binay, as of Monday, will be going to a Private English medium school ( that’s a school that teaches the whole time in English and that they see as far superior) and is having everything paid for. I even suggested that he may need a tutor for 6 - 12 months as he only has a mother who gets in quite late at night and would be unable to help him with homework, and that was accepted too. I am so very happy. I feel that no matter what happens for the rest of my time in India, that I will have done one piece of good at least.
He came into the class for the last time today with his new jumper and tie and white tennis shoes and has been measured for his blazer and pants. I couldn’t be happier if I was his mother. I also gave the school some money which they needed for some well overdue renovations and no sooner had I handed over the money than there were men scraping down walls and hammering and boiling lime and water. I didn’t say it was from me but the Darjeeling Children’s Fund. It’s really fridge money from you Ken!
Hopefully I will be able to see Binay on his way to his new school on Monday, as I would love to show you a photo of him in his new uniform. Coming soon......



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



20th March 2009

Binay
This was sooo touching Beverley. Im showing my own boys these blogs so that they can appreciate just how lucky they are here. Must be hard for you to not become too attached to the lovely people you have helped and met. Please keep us posted on Binay's progress. Keep up the good work !! Ciao Janet
22nd March 2009

Well done - go girl!
So proud of you for what you have done for little Binay and his family. He looks a joy.
29th March 2009

Binay
What a wonderful thing you have done for this little boy, Beverley. You must feel so rewarded. And what a smile! No wonder you connected with him. Cheers Pauline

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb