Kathmandu-Darjeeling


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » West Bengal » Darjeeling
January 10th 2006
Published: January 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I think it's only right that before I continue I mention my journey from Kathmandu to darjeeling which was... interesting. It took nearly two days and the whole journey passed some spectacular scenery (no pics sadly) of canyons with rivers, vast open flood plains and tea plantations in the early morning mist. It's not uncommon to see the odd vehicle that has gone off the road in these places but not long after starting the journey I had already seen a bus and a lorry that had collided head on with each other and another lorry that was on its side and narrowly missed going off the edge of a bridge! Later in the evening we passed what I could swear was rows of dead bodies under sheets which I can only guess was from another smash or maybe maoists... who knows but it was a little unsettling especially as the guy next to me always looked nervouse clutching his bags tightly. I also seemed to be a great source of interest to the locals who more or less took it in turns to come and shake my hand and ask me the usual questions (where are you from etc). I really liked this one eccentric guy in particular who kept talking to me and the rest of the bus very loudly. The music choice was amongst other similar things the Venga Boys at full blast so it was all distorted as usual on the speakers. Anyway at the end of that bus ride (15hrs with only one 15min break and two quick pee breaks!) I arrived late at night in Kakarbitta. I was shown to a nice hotel (300Rps) by a helpful local on the bus (another invited me to his house in a town not far from there - it just keeps happening!) its' not much money but I opted to go and find a cheaper one which just had a matress in a room (100Rps less than 1pound) but did the job perfectly!
The next day I crossed into india which involved some immigration procedures, a short rickshaw ride, 0.5km walk and a 40 min bus ride. From there having been given some more helpful and honest advice I decided to go 5km down the road to a place called NJP to have a fourth go at trying to buy a train ticket (having decided that although fun I was definately going to take the train where possible). After getting off the 40min bus ride I had been told the auto rickshaw ride was 6INR but they still tried to sell it to me for 50INR (still less than a pound). After the usual 'haggling' (it's closer to arguing really) he agreed to take me for the normal price. Of course as is normal in India they tried to change the price back to 50INR when we arrived and luckily I had the exact change ready and the 'haggling' only lasted a short time. India really hits you like a slap in the face when coming from somewhere else - luckily I was prepared for it this time and managed to duck! Anyway to cut a long story short my 4th attempt at buying a train ticket failed again (I did get closer than ever though) and the lady at the office told me they were all fully booked in every class, on every quota on every train for the next month and that there was a 45person waiting list which i could join if I wanted. Hmph!

Making the final journey to darjeeling took another 4/5hrs and involved all the usual in the form of an auto ride back to Siliguri and a 3.5hr jeep ride up here. Unfortunately we also passed another dead body that had been hit by a car lying in the road with markers aroun him to keep the traffice away. What a journey! - don't worry parents they all like this with dead bodies lying around.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb