Rishikesh


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
August 4th 2011
Published: August 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Left Delhi early yesterday morning by road to take the supposed to be 6hr route to Rishikesh. It did however end up taking 8 hrs instead and the journey was hot, dusty, noisy from all the traffic on the road but a real experience. Our driver was very sweet and ot us there safe and sound which is the main thing.

Diana and I settled in to our little room at the yoga school and we were happy that although it is very basic, it has all that is absolutely necessary for us these days! Here in Rishikesh it is much calmer than in Delhi, although everyone always seems to be busy doing stuff and the locals are lovely, lots of big smiles and lovely welcoming people. We pop over the bridge across the ganges most afternoons for a cold soda lemon which seems to be the only drink to quench our thirst in this heat.
The children are adorable and always so friendly. We cross paths every day with monkeys, cows and dogs as well as all the people hanging out in the streets or should i say living in community.

So far I must say my experience of India and indian culture and people is very good. I have not yet come across anyone who is not friendly and wanting to help me out.
Our morning and evening yoga sessions are great. The sweat just drips off us. Hopefully this will get us in fit shape for our trek in the next part of our tour once this detox week is over. I feel a bit more bendy in this heat. I will probably be aching allover tommorow as was in some weird postions this evening, but all good.

Anyway we're off to sleep now as early start again tommorow, followed by yoga philosophy and a massage! not bad hey?
p.s glad i didn't bother bringing a sleeping bag as DO NOT need one. Barely use the sheet to cover myself to avoid the mozzies, although somehow they still have managed to find me and i have got all the bites so far. What is it with my blood? they love me!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb