From Mumbai to Rishikesh


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
February 5th 2009
Published: February 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ram JhulaRam JhulaRam Jhula

Ram Jhula early in the morning

Mumbai - Rishikesh



On 23rd January 2009, I headed from Mumbai to visit Rishikesh. Being an avid traveler, I had gathered enough information about Rishikesh. I had the local map, demographic details and weather information. I had heard from numerous people that Rishikesh is a nice place. However, I was amazed when I reached. After living in Mumbai for years, the place is nothing short of Heaven. The landscape is straight out of an artist's canvas. The Ganges is a beautiful green and the skyline a clear blue, occasionally spotted with white fluffy clouds. Best of all, people are warm and friendly.

A two hour flight helps me cover the 1400 km distance from Mumbai to Delhi. Delhi to Haridwar is 195 Kms and as Haridwar does not have an airport, I took the overnight train and reached early morning at 5:00 am. Another 23 Kms to Rishikesh was covered by a 30 minute cab drive that took me straight to Ram Jhula.

To reach my hotel in Rishikesh, I had to walk across Ram Jhula. On a cold January morning I could feel the wind in my bones while walking across this bridge. At first
Banks of river GangaBanks of river GangaBanks of river Ganga

People around Ganga and the ferry service
I thought I was shivering but then I realized that it was not me but the bridge that was swaying. Adam, my friend, philosopher and guide said that its strong and sturdy but it was skeptical towards the obvious rocking. The view was too beautiful and I was observing the scenery, also I was too excited to worry then. However, had I fallen in the water I’d surely have died of hypothermia if not of drowning.

Well, nothing eventful happened but after a while the uphill climb to my hotel made me sweat, by then both the bridge and the chill were forgotten in the beauty of the place. In the darkness I could make out figures of saints chanting prayers, people sweeping the verandahs, some tea stalls opening for their first customers. An occasional dog gave us a one-eyed sleepy look as we hurried past laughing and talking - all in the same breath.

I had accommodation booked at Hotel Rajdeep located at Swargashram. A simple white structure with neat, clean rooms and most importantly clean bathrooms. The room was simply furnished, with double beds, blankets, a small table and chair along with a full length
The mountains and Ganga flowingThe mountains and Ganga flowingThe mountains and Ganga flowing

The mountains and Ganga flowing
mirror and ofcourse a Television with cable! The service was impeccable. Everyone was courteous and they kept checking if I needed anything. The smiled even when I called for water at 1:00 am the next night! Swargashram is quiet and tranquil, fits perfectly with the ambience at Rishikesh.

Rishikesh is considered to be a holy place and hence no meat or alcohol is allowed. I groaned when I heard about this as I could not imagine days without meat and vodka but without exaggeration, Rishikesh has the most tasty, lip smacking vegetarian food to offer.
The cuisine is varied. We had an elobrate breakfast at Greens with coffee, apple juice, bruchestas, crepes, toast with preserves and a bowl of fruit. I only stopped when I thought that there was no more space for a single morsel.

Walking in Rishikesh takes you back in time. The days are sunny, people are warm, generous and kind. The road has cattle grazing along and the cows become a part of the scenery. To reach any place you walk along narrow roads along the bank of the river. The place is spotted with tourists who pray, learn yoga or meditate. There are
The temple at Lakshman JhulaThe temple at Lakshman JhulaThe temple at Lakshman Jhula

View from German Bakery
small tea and fruit stalls and a small gathering of people around it chatting. Dogs trot along with humans and mules carry loads on their back. Local men and women sit along the sides of the road, knitting caps, socks and gloves. They sell these along with other wooden and brass nick knacks. You can stop at any place and the view is picturesque.

Lakshman Jhula is the other bridge and also very different from Ram Jhula. Lakshman Jhula is crowded with people, monkeys and two wheelers. People seem to be in a rush to reach the opposite side, ensuring that monkeys dont steal their food. The bike guys dragging their vehicles trying to avoid people and monkeys. Well, Adam decided that it would be good to get to German Bakery where we could get a awesome view of Ganga and look at the monkeys trying to steal food from an innocent tourist. The locals are sharp and are aware of the monkey’s tricks. Unfortunately, we dint get to see any of this.

Well, German Bakery made my mouth water again and we again ordered for some homemade brown bread and chocolate cake. We drowned this with some
The Cookie ManThe Cookie ManThe Cookie Man

The unique way cookies are baked and sold in Rishikesh
lemon juice while watching the temple at Lakshman Jhula and the monkeys swinging on the branches of the trees. We sat there for long enjoying the fresh crisp air and the soft sound of water swishing at a distance and birds cooing. We were only disturbed by an occasional temple bell.

It was a myth to think that we had eaten enough. Rishikesh is full of small stalls that sell fruits, nuts and biscuits and all the walking made me hungry every couple of hours. Amongst some 'firsts' in life was tasting Yak Cheese! Made with Yak milk, its generously topped all over toast, sandwiches and pizza's. Salty yet lip-smacking.

Rishikesh is an ideal destination for those love adventure sports. The options are between white water rafting, canoeing and kayaking or trekking, mountaineering and rock-climbing. River rafting in Ganges is an experience by itself - about 10 Kms of river run with varying degrees of rapids. A boat ride takes you to the currents of the water of the Ganges and then you can Raft down through the heart of Laxman Jhula and Geet Bhawan to Muni-Ki-Reti. The joy of rafting can be enhanced in summer when the
Snapshot of the waterfallSnapshot of the waterfallSnapshot of the waterfall

Snapshot of the waterfall
water is less cold.

We also trekked to one of the waterfalls. Actually, when we saw the clear water gush out of the mountains we were very curious to reach the top. We started off uphill leaving behind the car, water and chips. The path was narrow but lush green with trees, bushes and tiny flowering plants. We trailed along the rough path following the sound of the water. It took us about 40 minutes to reach but it was worth every single step taken. It was about 50 meters high and covered almost three enormous rocks which gave it a gorgeous three dimensional look. The water steadily flowed downwards creating a small pool at our feet. As we stood close to the waterfall we could feel the fine spray of water on us. The water was cold but so refreshing. It was an effort to move away and walk back again towards tarred roads.

Rishikesh is a exquisitely charming and serene place to relax. Its an enchanting experience to simply sit on the banks of the divine Ganga and dip your feet in the chilled water while watching the river flowing from the gigantic mountains amidst the
The RaftersThe RaftersThe Rafters

White water rafting at Rishikesh
green trees and the blue sky. All we did was carry a little picnic basket stuffed with smokes, food and water. Just let our mind unwind in this charming tranquil ambience. I am already nostalgic as I write this two weeks later and cant wait to plan another visit there, this time for longer.



Advertisement



13th February 2009

Nice
I think we should go on a trip together. I am planning on one between June - July this year - to Leh/Ladakh. Wanna come. Will drive up from New Delhi.
29th April 2009

Thanks a lot! This one was pretty informative as I wanted to go myself.
3rd September 2009

Awsome info
Hi I have read your travel blogs it was good to know someone with the same name and having similar inerests. I am alsio ond of travelling but could not manage time if you help me planning such tours ehan it will be nice. I would also like to join you if there are any future travel plans. You can reach me on 09372076943 Bye
25th November 2009

going for 3-4 weeks - any recommendation?
Hi. Saw Your entry regarding staying in rishikesh. I'm looking for somewhere good with Yoga class/Auyerveda/and maybe even reiki etc. at a reasonable rate. I'm thinking of the "Patanjali Yogpeeth " institution in Haridwar. (swami Ramdev). Do You know if one can take a longer course there?
14th December 2009

Hi
I am not aware of the Ashram you spoke about. However I have a close friend who does spend time in Rishikesh - if you have any specific details - I could share his mail id with you. Hope this helps.
21st July 2010

Nice Place
I have been to Rishikesh. It's a nice place, great people. Food at Chotiwala, swarg Ashram is awesome
7th January 2011

river rafting
http://www.riverraftinginindia.net- Central Himalayan Adventure offers to the adventurous traveller to enjoy the thrill of white water river rafting in India. The most popular river rafting places are Garhwal Himalayas, Uttarakhand in India. And if you also wanna to enjoy camping in rishikesh or stay in a riverside camps situated on sandy ganga beach. The camps at Rishikesh are very much environmentally friendly. People say rishikesh rafting is most enjoyable river rafting in india.

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0576s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb