Look Before You Step


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
October 7th 2008
Published: October 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

For proof that adjectives are relative, all you need to do is compare words like "nice", "good" and "excellent" written in a guide book to your expectations.

I think a monsoon blew through the other night. I haven't heard it rain like that in a long time. Its amazing that the power was only out for a couple of hours. I thought for sure it'd be down for days. The good thing is that the rain cleaned the streets. At least for a few hours until the cows had time to mark their territory once again.

I have been in Rishikesh for several days now. It is very pleasant here compared to Delhi. The weather is cooler, it is more laid back (aside from the constant sound of horns honking) and the scenery is incredible. There is an interesting mix of westerners here. There are those who are just here for a day or two before they move on to the next town; those who are here for maybe a couple of weeks or months for a spiritual vacation; and then there are those who probably showed up years ago and have not left. It is easy to see why this place would appeal to certain people. It is right up hippie alley.

Everywhere you turn there is an ashram here. The singing and chanting coming from within the walls flood the town constantly. There is also no shortage of yoga classes here. I've been to several, a couple really good and one that was way to trippy and not physically challenging enough for me. I dozed off for a couple of minutes near the end of class.

The food if had here is excellent despite there not being a shred of meat in this town. It's a pretty spiritual town from what I gather with numberous evening worships along the banks of the Ganges and countless statues of Hindu gods.

Next stop...I'm not sure yet. I'll keep you posted. Sorry for no pictures. I will try to upload some soon.

Advertisement



8th October 2008

Ha! You fell asleep during a yoga class. Can't say I haven't done that before. :)
10th October 2008

No Pics?!
Seriously, we're all awaiting the photos Mr. Slater. Quite slacking and send them already! ;- ) Glad to hear all is well in India. I'm sure you're having an unbelievable journey. Thanks for the updates. Keep 'em coming...
10th October 2008

Bring on the pictures.
Keep on rolling w/ the updates. I am curious to see pictures, so I can have some visuals to go with your posts.
10th October 2008

Oh yeah...
...and Isaac wanted to know if Mr. Mark was coming to watch the cowboys w/ him this weekend (true story).

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb