Arrived in Haridwar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Rishikesh
October 12th 2005
Published: October 19th 2005
Edit Blog Post

First impressions of Haridwar, nice and quiet. Got on a bike with a passenger seat at the back to Hotel Alpana, no helmet! Driver was very friendly. Alpana is expensive but clean, polite staff.

Hardiwar is more peaceful than Delhi and has a religious vibe but compared to Stoke it’s chaotic.

I walked up a steep hill, for 2 miles to the Mansa Devi temple, wish-fulfilling goddess. Beautiful views from the hill. Monkeys are on either side of the trail, trying to steal bags they mistaken for food off the pilgrims. To enter the temple I had to take off my shoes. I was blessed by a Holy man and they put a yellow spot on my forehead, oh dear. On the way up and down I was asked by locals for a photo, what a handsome devil.

Walked to the Har-Ki-Pairi Ghat where the pilgrims bathe in the Ganges. It’s amazing to see such dedication. Shame I didn’t go at night because flowers with candles are placed on the Ganges and bells (call to pray) are rung.

Had an amazing Mushroom Masala at the Chotiwala for tea.

Tried to get my mobile sorted but that became a massive drama - had to get my passport photocopied, picture taken in someone’s home studio and then I had to buy a new mobile because mine was locked. Lots of facial expressions and hand movements too communicate, no different than Stoke.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb