PATAL BHUBANESWAR


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Uttarakhand » Patal Bhubaneswar
November 5th 2005
Published: November 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Patal BhubaneswarPatal BhubaneswarPatal Bhubaneswar

Flowers abundant
I am more of a restless traveller. Always trying to explore more and more places away from the beaten track. But in the pursuit of the unknown and something exhilarating, I always listened to my inner instincts which have never betrayed me till now.
Whenever I travel to a place , I never take the same route back which helps me to see some new places and saves me from getting bored by the same landscapes and places.
On my way back from Choukri I just took the less travelled route to Almora. It passes through Berinag , Barechina and chotechina. So when I was driving I noticed a kilometre post with Patal Bhubaneswar 13 kilometres. The name ( Patal means Hell ) itself made me quite inquisitive and on inquring in the roadside tea stall I just offroaded my car towards it, though warned beforehand for the kaccha road. The 13 km road (if only it has to be called one) was really really bad. After 1 hour of skillfull driving I managed to reach the destination.
It is a underground cave complex. You have to crawl down through a very slippery narrow tunnel. The tunnel opens in to a
Patal BhubaneswarPatal BhubaneswarPatal Bhubaneswar

Natures bounty
underground autrium. This is 90 feet below the groun level. The autrium leads to several smaller caves. The ground is very slippery inside as water is trickling down continously. There are interesting natural rock formations which the guide will relate it with hindu mythology. Inside its quite frightening.
Photography is totally prohibited inside in any form. So you have to see yourself to belive it. The offroading was worth the place.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb